Fork oil-what if you have a pressurized cap? - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Wheels, Suspension and Brakes
Everything to do with wheels, tires,
suspension, forks and brakes

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-01-2007, 04:48 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 97
iTrader: (0)
 
Fork oil-what if you have a pressurized cap?

Hey all,

I'm hoping to replace my fork oil this weekend and remember reading about how caution should be used when depressing the cap on top of the fork if it's one of the "pressurized" caps.

So if mine does indeed have a pressurized cap is there anything on reassembly that I need to do such as re-"pressurizing"?

I'm thinking no but that little voice inside my head keeps telling me to ask to make sure.

JohnBoy750 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-01-2007, 05:34 PM
HAWK
 
Ccspinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago land
Posts: 2,576
iTrader: (9)
 
Send a message via Yahoo to Ccspinner
What year is it, and if it is a presurised, just let out the pressure.
It is like a tire valve on the top of the fork.
All you need is a hand pump to add pressure, just not to much.

Chad Falstad "Hawk"
Vroc #17649
2011 HD Ultra Classic "angel"
2001 Nomad 1500 Sold March 2012
2001 VN 750 "Sold June with 2008 with 21,000""Serinity"
Ccspinner is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-02-2007, 01:34 AM
Senior Member
 
MIKES86VULCAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oahu, HI.
Posts: 114
iTrader: (0)
 
If I remember right you never put more than 7psi or you can blow out the fork seals. I've always used 3-5psi and felt the difference.

Mike B.
MIKES86VULCAN is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-02-2007, 10:48 AM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
fergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kyle, Texas
Posts: 4,054
iTrader: (3)
   
I've never noticed I guess, but do all years have the valves at the top? I know my KZ1000 does.

Fergy
Kyle, TX VN750.com member #707 VROC#19556
2002 VN1500 Classic
Spline Lube Procedure, with photos, R/R Relocation and Coil Mod
Rusty Tank Cleaning!
Electrical Fault Finding Flowchart
SEAFOAM JUNKIE!


fergy is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-02-2007, 02:02 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
93VN750's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 1,766
iTrader: (2)
 
Send a message via Skype™ to 93VN750
Quote:
Originally Posted by fergy View Post
I've never noticed I guess, but do all years have the valves at the top? I know my KZ1000 does.
85 - 88 only.

Jon

93VN750, under re-construction
vn750.com Member # 828

Rick's Stator and R/R
MF AGM Battery
Coastered
Degoated
Shaved & Jetted
Iridium's
MAC Tapered Staggered Pipes
Battery/Temp/Clock Gauge
Stainless Steel Brake Lines
Dunlop D-404's
23,XXX miles and holding pending gasket change (underway!!!)
93VN750 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-02-2007, 05:38 PM
HAWK
 
Ccspinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago land
Posts: 2,576
iTrader: (9)
 
Send a message via Yahoo to Ccspinner
They all look like they have valves, but they are just to hold the cover on.

Chad Falstad "Hawk"
Vroc #17649
2011 HD Ultra Classic "angel"
2001 Nomad 1500 Sold March 2012
2001 VN 750 "Sold June with 2008 with 21,000""Serinity"
Ccspinner is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-03-2007, 08:29 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 97
iTrader: (0)
 
Okay so I think I'm in the clear. Mine is a '95, so to clarify I DO NOT have a pressurized valve then right???? This means I shouldn't have to re-pressurize on reassembly correct?

Sometimes I need to be told 3 or 4 times before I get it through my thick head!
JohnBoy750 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-03-2007, 08:49 AM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
93VN750's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 1,766
iTrader: (2)
 
Send a message via Skype™ to 93VN750
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnBoy750 View Post
Okay so I think I'm in the clear. Mine is a '95, so to clarify I DO NOT have a pressurized valve then right???? This means I shouldn't have to re-pressurize on reassembly correct?

Sometimes I need to be told 3 or 4 times before I get it through my thick head!
You've got it, no pressure required after re-assembly.

Jon

93VN750, under re-construction
vn750.com Member # 828

Rick's Stator and R/R
MF AGM Battery
Coastered
Degoated
Shaved & Jetted
Iridium's
MAC Tapered Staggered Pipes
Battery/Temp/Clock Gauge
Stainless Steel Brake Lines
Dunlop D-404's
23,XXX miles and holding pending gasket change (underway!!!)
93VN750 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome