no brake light - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Wheels, Suspension and Brakes
Everything to do with wheels, tires,
suspension, forks and brakes

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-19-2012, 11:54 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)
 
no brake light

hello, my 750 has a issue with brakes i do not have brake light when i use front brake but i do when back brake is used. i checked wires they are hooked up i tried another switch same thing, any ideas?
vulcan98 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-19-2012, 04:52 PM
..have a vulcan good day!
 
WilliamTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Pensacola, FL.
Posts: 4,508
iTrader: (17)
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by vulcan98 View Post
hello, my 750 has a issue with brakes i do not have brake light when i use front brake but i do when back brake is used. i checked wires they are hooked up i tried another switch same thing, any ideas?

1. Still a bad electrical connection.
2. Replacement switch also defective.
3. Bad connection with another harness connector (under the tank?) ???

Try removing connector from from brake light switch, with key on, short the 2 contacts together. Results will isolate or eliminate #1 and #2 above.

hope this helps
WilliamTech

'86 VN750 13,700 mi -Stock
-Purchased 2008 w/8800mi
Replaced ALL Cables . Kuryakyn LED Voltmeter
SilverStar Ultra 9003/HB2 H4 Headlamp, Jardine Fwd Controls,
Iridiums DPR7EIX-9 & Wires, Tuxedo Mod, Coil Mod, P/U Sensor Mod, Fork Seals,
Splines Lubed - 11/4/2012 - MF AGM Battery
Additional Flashing LED Brake Light on Trunk
Dampers went out @ 13+K !
After TOC MCCT's..... so amazingly quiet I discovered a rattling heat shield on my stock exhaust !
...have a vulcan good day!
WilliamTech is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-19-2012, 05:31 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)
 
will try that , thanks for reply
vulcan98 is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-19-2012, 06:23 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)
 
k, i took tank off and jumped yellow wire and blue wire brake light came on, now where do i go? i looked in manual couldnt find anything bout front brake switch except that it isnt adjustable and truthfully electrical is my worst area
vulcan98 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-19-2012, 06:59 PM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
pull the two wires off of the brake master cylinder and jump those two wires to see if your brake lights come on... o need to pull the tank.
slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-19-2012, 07:01 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)
 
aright found broke wire , fixed it and now got brake light front and back but lost turn signals.
vulcan98 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-19-2012, 08:52 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GreenwoodFrickinLakeNY
Posts: 10,354
iTrader: (8)
   
At this point, I suggest taking off seat and tank, and checking EVERY wire and connector ya got then...do a visible first, and clean any connectors adding a lil dilectric grease..take off the headlight lense too...connectors in there...




Last edited by Wolfie; 08-19-2012 at 08:55 PM.
Wolfie is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-19-2012, 08:58 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)
 
k will try that , thanks for input
vulcan98 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-19-2012, 10:16 PM
Member
 
ExpectationLESS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Outside of Chralotte, N.C.
Posts: 57
iTrader: (0)
 
i have tryed a repair on the harness connector under the tank several times. i think i am just going to make my own connection for the brake light wires.
ExpectationLESS is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-20-2012, 12:03 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GreenwoodFrickinLakeNY
Posts: 10,354
iTrader: (8)
   
Make sure you solder all yer homemade connections too...



Wolfie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome