Air Gauges - Tires and Shocks - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Wheels, Suspension and Brakes
Everything to do with wheels, tires,
suspension, forks and brakes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-16-2012, 01:38 PM Thread Starter
Total Newbie

Air Gauges - Tires and Shocks

Does anyone have a preference in their tire air gauge and their shock air gauge? I've gotta get something better than the ones I've been using for my cars. And they don't have to be the same tool. In fact, I'm assuming they won't be the same tool - different needs usually require different tools.

Also, does anyone have a preferred method of filling their shocks - hand pump, foot pump, electrical compressor pump, etc?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-16-2012, 03:06 PM
Old Fart

Garage
For tires I use the Roadgear digital gauge. 90 degree offset makes it alot quicker to get a reading.
http://roadgear.com/digital-tire-gauge-p-40.html

For the shocks. I used a small electric pump, like the "Slime" one, that had a built in gauge. I found that I lost 5 lbs just pullmg the pump off the shock, so.....I just filled them with five pounds more or air.

A good move is to replace the stock air stems with quality angled units.... Making filling the tires or checking pressure alot easier.

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/

Last edited by Knifemaker; 05-16-2012 at 03:08 PM.
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 05-16-2012, 03:21 PM Thread Starter
Total Newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knifemaker View Post
For tires I use the Roadgear digital gauge. 90 degree offset makes it alot quicker to get a reading.
http://roadgear.com/digital-tire-gauge-p-40.html