Using SpeedBleeders - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Wheels, Suspension and Brakes
Everything to do with wheels, tires,
suspension, forks and brakes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 09-23-2010, 12:39 AM Thread Starter

Using SpeedBleeders

I just got a set of SpeedBleeders for my vn750. I would like to replace the fluid. I've got about 8,500 clicks on the bike, and I'm guessing the fluid has never been changed (I'm the second owner).

I have a couple of questions, as I've never done this before.

First, it seems to me that when I install the SB, I will be removing the stock bleeder valves. Won't the fluid pour out during this process? Or will the fluid only exit the system if I depress the brake lever?

Now, do I have this right? Once the SBs are installed, the procedure would be to pop the cap off of the reservoir, attach the hose to one SB and open it up. Then slowly pump the lever to purge fluid, making sure to keep adding fluid up top to keep air out of the system. Once I see a steady stream in the hose (no air bubbles), close that SB and move to the other side and repeat. Then close that SB and fill the reservoir.

Sorry if my questions seem basic... this procedure is new to me. Just want to make sure I get it right.

Thanks in advance!

==========
Peter
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 09-23-2010, 01:34 AM
Members who have donated towards server costs

Send a message via Skype™ to KIMMERLING