Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

Front tire pressure

4K views 9 replies 6 participants last post by  Knifemaker 
#1 ·
I just replaced my front tire, Shinko 777. It's another Shinko brand, but a different model. The shop that mounted the tire recommended 42 PSI, based on the tire manufacturer. Vulcan manual says 28 PSI. Who is right?

On one hand, I always trusted the car manufacturer recommended pressure over the tire manufacturer recommended pressure. But this is a motorcycle. Adverse handling effects are a lot more scary on a motorcycle.

On the other hand, this is a reputable shop and I am new to motorcycles.

Any thoughts?

#2 ·
The tire manufacturer number is probably the "maximum safe pressure", i.e. tires are warmed up and carrying a heavy load. The recommended pressure on the bike frame is the recommended cold pressure. Two different numbers that don't conflict with each other. The shop shouldn't be filling them to max, but to the recommended cold pressure.

#3 ·
Hrm. Just did some googling around, and someone quoted Shinko (can't find original Shinko source) as saying that the rating for the tire should be used, not the stamped pressure. It's possible Shinko uses different materials/technology and requires a much higher pressure. So, basically, I have no idea. Ignore what I said earlier.

#4 · (Edited)
This has been a issue for years, with many aftermarket tires. Some makers offer a suggested tire pressure and some don't, but print a MAX pressure on the tire.

Marathons for instance, "recommend" 40psi (the tire lists 45 max) many riders found 38psi seemed to work well.
I think I tried to find information on Shinko tires a few years back and never found a "recommended tire pressure" from them, only from owners or tire sellers.

42 psi sounds pretty high given the front tire size and bike weight, but I'd try riding on that for while and see how it feels. I'd say 28psi might be too low for that tire.