clutch plates - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Transmission / Rear End
\ Chattering Clutch? Transmission Trouble?
Rear End Woes? Splines Shot? Discuss it here!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 32 (permalink) Old 08-09-2012, 01:06 AM Thread Starter
ass hole extaordinaire
 
new rider 9984's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sulphur Springs TX
Posts: 3,780
iTrader: (7)
 
clutch plates

When I install my new plates I was told that the last friction plate is to be installed with the tabs in the secondary grooves where as the rest of them go in the primary grooves.
I have a feeling that info could be faulty.
Can anyone confirm this for me?

Last edited by new rider 9984; 08-09-2012 at 01:09 AM.
new rider 9984 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 32 (permalink) Old 08-09-2012, 01:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 384
iTrader: (-3)
 
That is true. The manual states that as well. So, no it's not faulty info.
TSmith68 is offline  
post #3 of 32 (permalink) Old 08-09-2012, 08:41 AM
Old Fart
 
Knifemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Catawissa, MO
Posts: 11,643
iTrader: (4)
     
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by new rider 9984 View Post
When I install my new plates I was told that the last friction plate is to be installed with the tabs in the secondary grooves where as the rest of them go in the primary grooves.
I have a feeling that info could be faulty.
Can anyone confirm this for me?
It I'is true, and once you open up the clutch you'll see where that last plate is positioned.

That said....when I installed my Kevlar clutch I did not do this.... Never noticed any problem afterwords. Am sure there's a reason behind doing it but it appearently works fine if you don't.....

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/
Knifemaker is offline  
 
post #4 of 32 (permalink) Old 08-09-2012, 11:14 AM Thread Starter
ass hole extaordinaire
 
new rider 9984's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sulphur Springs TX
Posts: 3,780
iTrader: (7)
 
The reason I ask is that when I re assembled my engine I did do this and I was wondering if it could be the reason why I have a top speed of about 85 mph and old mini vans are breaking off the line faster than me the motor is running great it idles beautifully and sounds really strong but I just don't have that torquey launch that I had before and the acceleration isn't there either

I took her for a ride with my brother in law he has a shadow 750 and I used to smoke him anytime I wanted but now I gotta really push her to stay with him and I know anytime he wanted he could roll into his bike and leave me in the dust

So I think I'm gonna switch the last plate back to the primary groove and see what happens if y'all have any other ideas let me know
new rider 9984 is offline  
post #5 of 32 (permalink) Old 08-09-2012, 11:24 AM
Old Fart
 
Knifemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Catawissa, MO
Posts: 11,643
iTrader: (4)
     
Garage
So it's not a new clutch? Do you think yours is just bad?

Why do you think your loss of power is due to the clutch? You can usually feel or hear a clutch slip....

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/
Knifemaker is offline  
post #6 of 32 (permalink) Old 08-09-2012, 12:14 PM Thread Starter
ass hole extaordinaire
 
new rider 9984's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sulphur Springs TX
Posts: 3,780
iTrader: (7)
 
its not a new clutch yet i"m still waiting on my plates i ordered but it was working fine with all the plates on primary before and when i put the motor back together i put the last one off set so i thought it might not be grabbing as well as it did on the primary i just switched it back and i still have the same issue so im guessing that wasnt the problem but i dont know where to begin it runs great i just dont have any acceleration the timing is dead on what could cause it like i say i can only get to 85 in 5th gear 90 if im going down hill but before the motor pull for the stator mod and oil leaks i could do that in 3rd if i wanted and wouldnt even be at WOT

would these symptoms be cause by a rocker arm falling off?
new rider 9984 is offline  
post #7 of 32 (permalink) Old 08-09-2012, 01:30 PM
Old Fart
 
Knifemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Catawissa, MO
Posts: 11,643
iTrader: (4)
     
Garage
Most lack of top end power issues seem to be carb related from what I have seen here. Improper vacuum line placement, holes, cracks, etc.

First I'd check your throttle cables to make sure they are letting the throttle valve open all the way. Then I'd check all carb lines, boots, and even the air cleaners.

I'd also check that both cylinders are firing all the time. If ones cutting out that drop your power easily.

If you know your getting good compression, the only other thing I can think of is fuel starvation due to a clogged line or improper float bowl level.

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/
Knifemaker is offline  
post #8 of 32 (permalink) Old 08-09-2012, 02:07 PM Thread Starter
ass hole extaordinaire
 
new rider 9984's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sulphur Springs TX
Posts: 3,780
iTrader: (7)
 
the bike was accelerating perfect before i pulled the engine i cleaned the already clean carbs before i reinstalled the engine i have new fuel lines thottle cables are opening up all the way carbs are at 2 1/2 turns

is there any other things it may be believe me i have covered all the basics

im gonna run another compression test to be on the safe side that is as soon as i finish these tacos

Last edited by new rider 9984; 08-09-2012 at 02:16 PM.
new rider 9984 is offline  
post #9 of 32 (permalink) Old 08-09-2012, 02:33 PM
Senior Member
 
kc2dgq's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,350
iTrader: (13)
 
Garage
is the bike stock, or did you do an ear shave?

Is the carb vent tucked in the right ear without bottoming out, and not open to wind?....this can cause a fuel issue.

I would double check your carb boots and fuel lines....crankcase breather...and anything else just in case.
kc2dgq is offline  
post #10 of 32 (permalink) Old 08-09-2012, 02:42 PM Thread Starter
ass hole extaordinaire
 
new rider 9984's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sulphur Springs TX
Posts: 3,780
iTrader: (7)
 
here is a list of all mods on this bike

k/n filters ears on
coil relay mod
pickups gapped at 18
tux mod for stator
reeds blocked

as for the vent tubes the right side carb vent near the air fuel screw is plugged off the one on the left carb goes to the petcock the ones over the float chamber that tee into eachother is running out the back an ends just below the seat same place it was before the engine pull

is the one that tees off the one i should move to the ear?
new rider 9984 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome