I broke the shifter shaft HELP! - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Transmission / Rear End
\ Chattering Clutch? Transmission Trouble?
Rear End Woes? Splines Shot? Discuss it here!

12Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-29-2018, 03:39 PM Thread Starter

Unhappy I broke the shifter shaft HELP!

Hey guys, thank you for all the great resources. I am really new to motorcycles. I bought a VN750 1994, it did not work but so far i put in a new battery, replaced a blown fuse, managed to get it started by spraying some starter fluid but then it stopped working and i had fuel leaking from petcock pipes coz they were all bent, and in the midst of it all i broke the shifter shaft, now i am panicking. i bought some JB weld and put that on just now to try and see if this will hold but i think i will have to eventually change the part.

i found the shifter shaft of an 87 on ebay and was ready to buy it but I cant figure out if it will fit my bike
i consulted a site but i don't see "shifter shaft" anywhere

here is the link to the part

eBay item number:173157321373

i did art to show where i broke and the gear arm fell off and this part looks pretty close to the one i broke. I can attach more pictures of my bike and things if that'll be helpful. I'd appreciate any and all help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	shifter.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	90.2 KB
ID:	43953  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 04-29-2018, 04:33 PM

Garage
I think your referring to this part? The first on the list.
gear-change-mechanism

or is it where the clutch cable connects, behind your foot?

If it's the first part I have some bad news for you, the case has to be split to change the shaft. That being said I have seen guys on here talk about welding broken gear shafts up. I don't know it is the same part but if you know somebody maybe the can blag it together for you.