Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

CA Emissions

4K views 7 replies 7 participants last post by  knicol 
#1 ·
Hey everyone, I've been contemplating removing the CA emissions stuff from my bike. I'm worried its possible things aren't venting correctly through it. I've done my searching, and it seems like a fairly large undertaking.

My questions is, on the two hoses that are running out of the tank, could I just replace those hoses to and run them to to bottom of the bike to bypass the ca emissions stuff? Or do I need to do the full removal?

I'm not a mechanic by any means and I didn't know where half of the stuff they were mentioning in the posts were. I followed the cables coming out of the bike from the tank, one goes to the small box in front of the battery and one goes to the cylinder looking thing in front of the bike. I don't even know how I'd get to the one in front of the battery. I tried removing the coolant reservoir and couldn't even figure that out. This exercise has made me realize how far off from being able to work on my bike I am. My rebel was no big thing, (not to mention there were tons of work throughs with pictures I could follow. Did I mention I'm more of a picture book guy than novel guy when it comes to this stuff?) everything was just out in the open and relatively easy to get to. All I had to do to remove its emissions was take the vent hose from the tank and remove it from the emissions.

Thanks in advance

See less See more
#2 ·
Its really not that hard...pull the tank, seat, and existing "ears"...all will be visible then...and you can plug instead of remove also, to keep the look that its still intact....

Search "marbelling", and "earshave"...brother Tanner could prolly help ya better with the Cali stuff than me...in NY, we just strip it all off, lol...

#3 ·