Does this bike have a fuel filter? - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Carbs and Fuel System
From the gas tank to the carbs
All fuel system discussion

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-08-2008, 11:46 AM Thread Starter
Ba dum dum, ching...
 
Ron_G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Joisey (you got a problem wit dat?)
Posts: 542
iTrader: (0)
 
Does this bike have a fuel filter?

I know this is a dumb question but does it have a fuel filter and if so where is it?

Thx,
R

Yes, it's my mid-life crisis.

Sweet Jane...
http://images5a.snapfish.com/232323232%7Ffp63386%3Enu%3D457%3A%3E6%3C3%3E258%3E  WSNRCG%3D3345343785349nu0mrj
Ron_G is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-08-2008, 12:11 PM
Chucklehead
 
dragon159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Poynette WI
Posts: 1,050
iTrader: (3)
 
The closest thing to a filter is in the tank on the petcock. It's just a screen but does a good job as long as you aren't pouring dirt into the tank.
dragon159 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-08-2008, 01:37 PM
Giggity!
 
kanuck69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ohio, Zanesville
Posts: 4,307
iTrader: (24)
     
Garage
Several people have added a filter. I don't know where, I haven't done it.
kanuck69 is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-08-2008, 04:56 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
ChrisC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 405
iTrader: (3)
 
I put a small inline filter on each fuel line between the petcock and the carbs. They are tucked in on top of the carbs, you really have to be looking to see them. Not a whole lot of room in there. Here's a pic.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Fuel Filter.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	73.6 KB
ID:	916  

Chris
Wayne, NJ
1989 VN750-A5
VROC #27781
-Replaced/Fused Stator & Replaced/Relocated R/R (15K mi.)
-MF Battery
-De-Goated/Re-goated
-Coastered
-Splines Lubed
-Stebel Nautilus Horn
-AutoMeter 2" VOM
-Silverstar Headlight
-Refinished Gauge Rings and Mirrors(Flat Black)
-Refinished Swingarm/Lubed Pivots
-K&S Turn Signals Clear Cover/Amber Bulb
-Kenda Kruz 110/90-19 front 170/80-15 rear
-Clear Alternatives LED tail light
-Plexifairing III
-Willie & Max Saddlebags and SissyBar Bag
ChrisC is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-15-2008, 12:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Jace Bror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Prior Lake (MPLS area), MN
Posts: 950
iTrader: (1)
 
so you need to have two filters on this bike? I know on my ninja 250, i could remove the tiny factory and put an inline in like you did, but i only needed one
Jace Bror is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-15-2008, 05:24 AM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
750Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 2,850
iTrader: (10)
   
The tank valve has two outlets, one for each carb, so yes it would need two.
750Doug is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome