Help! hard to start Barely runs now - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Carbs and Fuel System
From the gas tank to the carbs
All fuel system discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-10-2008, 11:37 AM Thread Starter
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
jmczzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 106
iTrader: (4)
 
Help! hard to start Barely runs now

Well installing the stock airbox and ears was a giant step backwards! The bike spits and sputters. Will only run if the throttle is kept about 1/3 to open and constantly twisted back and forth. Will not idle. Did my shooting carb cleaner up the drain blown out something or dislodge goo that now is stopping up something? I took the just installed ear covers and elements off to see if any effect, no change. I do see plastic caps covering vacum ports for the removed surge tank stuff. Could the PO have changed the mixture settings? I get the location from looking at photos in other threads. I also found a comment that says the mixture screws are factory set at 1 5/8 turn. I think i'll see what they are set at and reset at this spec and try again to start. I have ordered a Clymers but right now you guys and the foggy on line manual is the only reference I have. Thanks for the help so far and please keep it up.
3z

Last edited by jmczzz; 06-10-2008 at 12:00 PM.
jmczzz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-10-2008, 11:40 AM
and the Adventure Cycle
 
hyperbuzzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Western PA
Posts: 6,138
iTrader: (1)
   
If the PO had done the ear shave, they probably changed the jets too. You'll need to pull the carbs and go back to stock jets.


AKA: Tim & 'The Adventure Cycle' VROC #24567, NEVROC, SteelCity VROC


"When life throws you curves,
Aim for the apex."

Author Unknown
hyperbuzzin is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-10-2008, 11:58 AM Thread Starter
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
jmczzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 106
iTrader: (4)
 
I checked the jet on the front carb it is a 132 which i understand is stock. i did use a couple of gals of fresh gas and added about 3 oz of seaform. do I need to drain that out?
jmczzz is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-10-2008, 01:07 PM
Senior Member
 
JamieB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 158
iTrader: (3)
 
That is the right main jet. There is also a Pilot jet which if I remeber right should be a 32 and a needle jet which should have no shims.

More than likely he did change the Air/Fuel mixture.

What you are describing sounds like a clogged pilot jet. The seafoam may clear it out with time.

Jamie B.
Ankeny IA
88 Vulcan 750 with 40K+ miles
JamieB is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-10-2008, 03:05 PM
Senior Member
 
one2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Iron County Missouri
Posts: 135
iTrader: (0)
 
I was at our local American Auto parts store and talked to the Seafoam jobber guy when I picked up a can and asked how much was too much to mix in a tank of gas. He said use the whole can. I told him I had a motorcycle and it only held about 3 gallons of gas. He said it wouldn't hurt anything if I used the whole can and in fact I could run straight Seafoam like gas if I wanted to. So I dumped the whole can in...and no problem...done it twice now.

I'm not recommending anything here, just reporting what I was told and did. Kinda bet my carbs are real clean though. But if I thought I had a super clogged carb I'd probably use the whole can.
one2 is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-10-2008, 04:20 PM Thread Starter
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
jmczzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 106
iTrader: (4)
 
I've been slowly adjusting the mixture screw on both carbs after screwing them in from 2 & 2 1/2 turns. I started by setting them both at 1 1/2 out and have moved them out to 1 3/4 and 2 out. Now it runs pretty smooth at 2 to 5 k rpms but still will not idle. Also will not rev above 5 k unless I snap the trottle down then back up quickly then it goes to about 7 but back fires from the rear cylinder and stalls back down to 5 k. I will pour the whole can of seafoam in the tank. I also believe I have a charging issue, but that will be a new thread.
thanks for the ideas and any more will be welcomed. 3z

Last edited by jmczzz; 06-10-2008 at 04:22 PM. Reason: spelling
jmczzz is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-11-2008, 06:45 AM
Senior Member
 
one2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Iron County Missouri
Posts: 135
iTrader: (0)
 
When my stator wires burnt, before I knew they did and my battery wasn't charging, I was riding home and noticed at 7K my engine began cutting out rather badly. That was because the battery was getting weak and couldn't handle the high RPMs...or so I determined. Overnight I fully charged the battery and there was no missing at the higher RPMs the next day.
one2 is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-11-2008, 09:10 AM
and the Adventure Cycle
 
hyperbuzzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Western PA
Posts: 6,138
iTrader: (1)
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmczzz View Post
Now it runs pretty smooth at 2 to 5 k rpms but still will not idle. Also will not rev above 5 k unless I snap the trottle down then back up quickly then it goes to about 7 but back fires from the rear cylinder and stalls back down to 5 k.
Have you checked the choke cable to be sure it's working right?


AKA: Tim & 'The Adventure Cycle' VROC #24567, NEVROC, SteelCity VROC


"When life throws you curves,
Aim for the apex."

Author Unknown
hyperbuzzin is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-11-2008, 12:01 PM
Daily rider
 
ksmnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,043
iTrader: (0)
 
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by one2 View Post
When my stator wires burnt, before I knew they did and my battery wasn't charging, I was riding home and noticed at 7K my engine began cutting out rather badly.
Excuse me for asking this, but do you guys think you are riding crotch rockets? Maybe I'm just becoming an old fuddydud, but I cringe when I get over 4k while riding. I watch the tach periodically, but have always been one to go by sound more than anything for shifting (call me old school). I mean, I realize redline is at 9k, but I can't imagine that it's too great on the engine to run high revs all the time - not to mention the loss in fuel economy. Am I all wet here?

2017 Indian Roadmaster (current ride)
2003 VN1600A (Traded August 2017 to #1 son for a Bushmaster AR)
2001 VN750 bought 4/19/08 w/2309 miles(Sold April 2010 with just over 12,000 miles)
VROC #33035
__________________________________________________ ________________
Just when I thought I was winning the rat race, somebody moved the finish line!
ksmnet is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-11-2008, 05:42 PM Thread Starter
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
jmczzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 106
iTrader: (4)
 
heck no, the last time I actually rode a bike at 7k rpm was 15 yrs ago and was on a flat hwy in west North Dakota. Nobody around for several hundred miles.
What this is about is trying to get my 89 project bike in resonable tune so I can ride it some while Im rehabing it. 3z
jmczzz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome