Carb trouble - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Carbs and Fuel System
From the gas tank to the carbs
All fuel system discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-22-2008, 08:43 PM Thread Starter
Mark

Carb trouble

I am new at trying to do my own work on my bike and have a lot to learn. I am haveing problems with my carbs, I think it could be a stuck float but before I remove the carbs I wanted to cover anything else. From what I have read the carb vent tube comes from each carb (in between them) to a T then runs back towards the seat or to the airbox, correct? The reason I am unsure is that when I took the tank off I saw the fuel gauge box that has two wires comeing out of it and a port that looks like a tube would go on it but nothing was hooked to it. I saw what I now think is the vent tube in that area and thought that it might go the fuel gauge. Is there something that should be hooked to the fuel gauge box? Problem started when bike all of a sudden started to idel faster on its own then it started dogging out acting like it wasn't getting gas but I could smell gas quite strong then it died. I got it running angain and noticed gas running down over the rear cylinder head. Now I am pretty sure it was comeing out of the carb vent tube. I just got a MF batt. and more sea foam. Thanks for any ideas or suggestions.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-22-2008, 10:37 PM
Kawika

I'm pretty sure that nothing is supposed to be connected to the fuel gauge...there is a nipple there, but nothing was plugged into mine from the day I bought it. I would check the fuel tank vent to see if it's plugged, too.

good luck!

LETS RIDE!! VROC# 26137
☠ Black Candy ☠ '07 Mean Streak 1600
☠ Blue Crush ☠ '95 VN750-A11

post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-23-2008, 01:51 AM