Marbling - Idle issue - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Carbs and Fuel System
From the gas tank to the carbs
All fuel system discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-25-2014, 08:24 PM Thread Starter

Marbling - Idle issue

Okay, so I feel like I've read through every thread on here about marbling, and the carb fuel adjustment screws. Here's what I did (the bike is pretty much stock, exhaust included):
-Marbled the two lines running to the emissions pod
-removed the vac line from the rear carb to the pod, capping both sides
-Adjusted each mix screw to 2.5 turns out.

Now, the idle is very inconsistent, fluctuating from about 1000 to 1200 back and forth. It sounds like the rear cylinder is missing most of its strokes. Adjusting the rear carb screw a full turn in either direction does not seem to affect the idle or inconsistency.

Note that this is my first time adjusting anything carburetor related - so if there is something obvious I missed, please let me know.

Thanks!!! Mark

2006 VN750
Tim Parrott Stator
Mosfet R/R
NGK Iridium plugs
Drilled Clutch Basket
TOC rebuilt ACCT springs
Splines lubed
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-25-2014, 10:13 PM

Sound like a possible vacuum leak somewhere...do a smoke test on it with the engine running...also, spray a lil WD-40 on the carb to head boots...if the idle changes temp, you foud it....if the smoke sucks in, you found it....

You can try doing a backblow on the carbs too, but that (dirt) shouldnt cause fluctuation in idle....Im leaning towards a vac leak somewhere....

post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-25-2014, 11:28 PM Thread Starter

Thanks for the response... I'll give those two things a try tomorrow. Can marbling make carb problems more prominent?

I guess I should add the following to my timeline (forgot to specify):