Idle Adjustment Screw/Cable - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Carbs and Fuel System
From the gas tank to the carbs
All fuel system discussion

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-16-2014, 07:14 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)
 
Idle Adjustment Screw/Cable

Lucky me! I'd always had a problem with my bike's idle, and could never really seem to pin it down because my idle adjust didn't work. Turns out one of the previous owners backed out the damn thing so far it tore the cable apart...

Where can I pick one of these sweet babies up?
Brickstack is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-16-2014, 07:21 PM
romeobravo172
 
romeobravo172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Leesburg,Fl
Posts: 842
iTrader: (18)
 
Send a message via Skype™ to romeobravo172
You might find a used one here, or MA KAWI has them for about $80 !!! You also can find a small threaded screw and use that, although changing the adjustment would be a little harder.


If it ain't broke I ain't gonna fix it!!!

04-3,200 miles bought July 2011 with 928 miles. Loaded with acessories to many to list here, see my albums for more details! I also make a custom tank bib specific for the 750 if anyone is interested, ck my albums for some pics.
romeobravo172 is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-16-2014, 07:24 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GreenwoodFrickinLakeNY
Posts: 10,354
iTrader: (8)
   
....check Ebay....and put a querry in sell/swap....just fyi, a Harley aftermarket for a CVK should work....



Wolfie is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-16-2014, 07:26 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by romeobravo172 View Post
You might find a used one here, or MA KAWI has them for about $80 !!! You also can find a small threaded screw and use that, although changing the adjustment would be a little harder.
I'll be damned. Poor students like me don't have that kinda money! Thanks for the input though. I can't believe they managed to do that though. You'd think they felt it tearing the metal cabling inside the casing apart, but... I guess not.
Brickstack is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-16-2014, 08:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GreenwoodFrickinLakeNY
Posts: 10,354
iTrader: (8)
   
An old school fix.....cut out the frayed parts, lube it up with bearing grease or white lithium.....should last awhile, because once its set, you dont mess with it much.....



Wolfie is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-17-2014, 02:17 AM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
Another Ol' Schol fix, use a throttle cable, and solder a screw end into it, iirc there used to be wire thumb screw conversion for old Rochester carbs so you could dial in the air fuel mixtures with out any tools on the race track.
slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-28-2014, 01:19 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)
 
Hey there guys, small update: I found a replacement for the idle adjustment cable. Only problem is, I don't know how I'm gonna make this sucker fit in that housing the thumbscrew sits in. Any ideas?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20140328_010929.jpg
Views:	171
Size:	93.8 KB
ID:	14530  
Brickstack is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-28-2014, 01:40 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GreenwoodFrickinLakeNY
Posts: 10,354
iTrader: (8)
   
The black knob, should be removable.....I never looked close at it, but....


1) check for a setscrew in the side of the plastic

2) grab the end closest to the knob with needlenose vise grips, and try to unscrew the knob.

3) check the top of the plastic knob for a plug...remove it...could be a screw head under to remove it from the cable....

....ie....these knobs were installed once....means that they can be uninstalled.....

....if none of that works....take the bracket off the old, and cut 2 slots in it with like a thin dremel blade....bend the cut in oposite directions....install the new cable...bend the tabs back to lock....

Without actually seein it, its difficult to give ya just one answer...sorry man....



Wolfie is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-02-2014, 10:00 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brickstack View Post
Hey there guys, small update: I found a replacement for the idle adjustment cable. Only problem is, I don't know how I'm gonna make this sucker fit in that housing the thumbscrew sits in. Any ideas?
Where did you find it?
dave_jackson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome