Disconnecting throttle and choke cables? - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Carbs and Fuel System
From the gas tank to the carbs
All fuel system discussion

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-19-2013, 08:04 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 14
iTrader: (0)
 
Disconnecting throttle and choke cables?

Hey, back again with yet another stupid question. How do I disconnect the theottle and choke cables from the carburetor? I see that it's held in place with a circular "bracket" with a slot for the cable to come out. On the throttle cable, I have access to the "bracket" but not enough slack in the cable. On the choke cable, I DON'T have access to the bracket, but I DO have enough slack in the cable. I guess I'll just throw another problem out there too: when I turn the throttle, it sticks in place and I have to roll my hand forward for the throttle to release. Any way to remedy this?
MrBlondyable is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-19-2013, 08:57 AM
..have a vulcan good day!
 
WilliamTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Pensacola, FL.
Posts: 4,508
iTrader: (17)
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBlondyable View Post
Hey, back again with yet another stupid question. How do I disconnect the theottle and choke cables from the carburetor? I see that it's held in place with a circular "bracket" with a slot for the cable to come out. On the throttle cable, I have access to the "bracket" but not enough slack in the cable. On the choke cable, I DON'T have access to the bracket, but I DO have enough slack in the cable. I guess I'll just throw another problem out there too: when I turn the throttle, it sticks in place and I have to roll my hand forward for the throttle to release. Any way to remedy this?
Disconnect the cables at the bar ends...provides slack to disconnect at carbs.

Re-Lube the cables prior to carb installation.
Most any lube will work....except no WD-40 or such....oil is to thin for lube longevity .

WilliamTech

'86 VN750 13,700 mi -Stock
-Purchased 2008 w/8800mi
Replaced ALL Cables . Kuryakyn LED Voltmeter
SilverStar Ultra 9003/HB2 H4 Headlamp, Jardine Fwd Controls,
Iridiums DPR7EIX-9 & Wires, Tuxedo Mod, Coil Mod, P/U Sensor Mod, Fork Seals,
Splines Lubed - 11/4/2012 - MF AGM Battery
Additional Flashing LED Brake Light on Trunk
Dampers went out @ 13+K !
After TOC MCCT's..... so amazingly quiet I discovered a rattling heat shield on my stock exhaust !
...have a vulcan good day!

Last edited by WilliamTech; 11-19-2013 at 09:43 AM.
WilliamTech is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-19-2013, 09:27 AM
2014 KLR 650!
 
Goofyfoot2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tega Cay, SC
Posts: 3,361
iTrader: (1)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBlondyable View Post
Hey, back again with yet another stupid question. How do I disconnect the theottle and choke cables from the carburetor? I see that it's held in place with a circular "bracket" with a slot for the cable to come out. On the throttle cable, I have access to the "bracket" but not enough slack in the cable. On the choke cable, I DON'T have access to the bracket, but I DO have enough slack in the cable. I guess I'll just throw another problem out there too: when I turn the throttle, it sticks in place and I have to roll my hand forward for the throttle to release. Any way to remedy this?
You get slack in the throttle cables by screwing them all the way in first at the throttle handle. Then you can further slackin' down at the carb.

2014 Kawasaki KLR 650
Back to the Kawa World
Goofyfoot2001 is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-19-2013, 03:34 PM
Dr. Vulcanstein
 
jadabull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: florida
Posts: 1,536
iTrader: (6)
 
This is a tip for after you reinstall the cables.....If your throttle is sticking and you have to roll your hand grip forward you have too much tension in the cable, loosen it with the adjuster.


.... - " " - .
..( ___/\ /))
.( l vv/ )(
.) \ O/ )((
..(( .)(. )\ \
.....) . ( / /
.....( )

Last edited by jadabull; 11-20-2013 at 03:28 AM.
jadabull is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-19-2013, 04:29 PM
Senior Member
 
kc2dgq's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,353
iTrader: (13)
 
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadabull View Post
This is a tip for after you reinstall the cables.....If your throttle is sticking and you have to roll your hand grip forward you have too much play in the cable, tighten it down with the adjuster.
In my experience, the cables being too TIGHT are what bind the throttle sleeve. Someone please correct me if I am wrong here.

Too loose and you get slop at either end usually.

It could also be a bad or freyed cable hanging up in the sleeve.
kc2dgq is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-19-2013, 07:44 PM
..have a vulcan good day!
 
WilliamTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Pensacola, FL.
Posts: 4,508
iTrader: (17)
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by kc2dgq View Post
In my experience, the cables being too TIGHT are what bind the throttle sleeve. Someone please correct me if I am wrong here.

Too loose and you get slop at either end usually.

It could also be a bad or freyed cable hanging up in the sleeve.
x2


'86 VN750 13,700 mi -Stock
-Purchased 2008 w/8800mi
Replaced ALL Cables . Kuryakyn LED Voltmeter
SilverStar Ultra 9003/HB2 H4 Headlamp, Jardine Fwd Controls,
Iridiums DPR7EIX-9 & Wires, Tuxedo Mod, Coil Mod, P/U Sensor Mod, Fork Seals,
Splines Lubed - 11/4/2012 - MF AGM Battery
Additional Flashing LED Brake Light on Trunk
Dampers went out @ 13+K !
After TOC MCCT's..... so amazingly quiet I discovered a rattling heat shield on my stock exhaust !
...have a vulcan good day!
WilliamTech is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-20-2013, 01:08 AM
Dr. Vulcanstein
 
jadabull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: florida
Posts: 1,536
iTrader: (6)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by kc2dgq View Post
In my experience, the cables being too TIGHT are what bind the throttle sleeve. Someone please correct me if I am wrong here.

Too loose and you get slop at either end usually.

It could also be a bad or freyed cable hanging up in the sleeve.

X3.........you're right Kc, my dyslexia was kicking in.


.... - " " - .
..( ___/\ /))
.( l vv/ )(
.) \ O/ )((
..(( .)(. )\ \
.....) . ( / /
.....( )
jadabull is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-20-2013, 11:04 AM
Senior Member
 
kc2dgq's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,353
iTrader: (13)
 
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadabull View Post
X3.........you're right Kc, my dyslexia was kicking in.
it's all good bro!!
I mis-type quite often myself......the brain and fingers sometimes don't sync and require a reboot...lol
kc2dgq is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome