severe backfiring - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Carbs and Fuel System
From the gas tank to the carbs
All fuel system discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 04-27-2007, 01:28 PM Thread Starter

severe backfiring

Hello everyone,
i'm new to this, so i hope i can explain to you what my problem is. i have a 92 vulcan 750. the bike runs great under full throttle, but stumbles and misses under light acceleration in the 3500 to 4000 rpm range, and when i "level off speed around 60 mph and mostly in 5th gear ( it will occaisionaly do it in 4th gear when bike is hot ). it only does this on the left side exhaust ( rear head ) and backfires alot on decelleration, again only on the left side exhaust ( rear head ) bike did not do this prior to carb rebuild, i have taken bike back to shop 7 or 8 times to get it fixed ( they rebuilt carbs ) they have re-jetted several times, but will not go away. the only mods to this bike other than rejetting are v&h cruizers and the removal of the Ca. emmsions. bike was doing this prior to pipes and emossions. also, i keep reading about "marbleing the coasters" to prevent backfires. can someone explain this to me? did i mention that i am only getting about 30 mpg? is this a clue?

thanks in advance for all of your help

Jerry
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 04-27-2007, 01:45 PM
HAWK

Send a message via Yahoo to Ccspinner
Sounds like it is rich or sticking float.
Have you pulled a plug to see what they look like?
MArbleing or coastering is plugging the air inlet which is part of the emisions.
The reed valves are on the side of the motor, Left side on the rear, righ tin the front behind the Ear.
By plugging them and adjusting the air mix screws on the carb helps with that.
Have you looked for a Vacum leak?
Is the vent hose still attached to the right Ear?

Chad Falstad "Hawk"
Vroc #17649
2011 HD Ultra Classic "angel"
2001 Nomad 1500 Sold March 2012