Fine Tuning the bike - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Carbs and Fuel System
From the gas tank to the carbs
All fuel system discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-18-2006, 09:13 PM Thread Starter
Love it or Leave it
 
ssmendez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hutchinson,Ks
Posts: 87
iTrader: (1)
 
Send a message via Yahoo to ssmendez
Fine Tuning the bike

Ok,I put the carbs back in.Ouch! Anyway,I was so proud that I did it myself,as the Kaw dealer wanted $500.00 to do it.I found a ripped vac shutoff diaphram on the rear carb and also plugged jets.I cleaned everything and put it all back according to the book. I prayed,then started the bike.It started right up! It sounded meatier, but off sync.I took it for a short ride and know that it needs to be sync'd.I adjusted to pilot screws to about 2 1/4 turns out.I am now trying to get the sync screw somewhere in the vicinity of correctness.If it's way out of sync,will it be hard to make it idle right? Am I close to adjusting the pilot screws right? By the way,the Kaw dealership here in Hutchinson,Kansas,wants $90.00 just to sync the carbs! You guys and gals are the best,as you are owners and savy about our vn750's.Steve
ssmendez is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-18-2006, 10:01 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Sky Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Posts: 1,647
iTrader: (0)
 
See crobins365's post on how she did hers. You will need to build or borrow a manometer. The cheap version is about $2 or so to build. That's how Cindy did hers. You can't sync the carbs by ear. The expensive route is to buy a manometer for min $50 or so. It's an easy procedure but you'll most likely end up shutting the bike down to adjust the sync screw as it's difficult to get to when the carbs are at idle.

Jim W
93 VN 750 "Ursula"
Moved R/R 08Sep06
R/R rewire 17Feb07
New R/R, Installed 14Jun08
New Stator installed 10 Jun08
Maintenance Free Battery 12Jan08
21480 Miles
VROC #8542
Sky Rider is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-18-2006, 10:16 PM Thread Starter
Love it or Leave it
 
ssmendez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hutchinson,Ks
Posts: 87
iTrader: (1)
 
Send a message via Yahoo to ssmendez
Will the bike idle rough when not in sync?
ssmendez is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-30-2006, 03:55 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
fergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kyle, Texas
Posts: 4,054
iTrader: (3)
   
I'd say so, especially if it's badly out of sync. If it's close, you'd need a manometer to tell. Clogged pilot circuitry in the carbs will also cause rough idle, but since you had the carbs off, I'm sure you cleaned them up good.

Fergy
Kyle, TX VN750.com member #707 VROC#19556
2002 VN1500 Classic
Spline Lube Procedure, with photos, R/R Relocation and Coil Mod
Rusty Tank Cleaning!
Electrical Fault Finding Flowchart
SEAFOAM JUNKIE!


fergy is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-30-2006, 05:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Media, PA
Posts: 87
iTrader: (0)
 
Send a message via AIM to MikeyMike
Hey mendez, you didn't by any chance take pictures did ya? I've been thinking about re-jetting myself....

Mike
Media, PA
VROC # 19922
V&H Cruzers
Saddlebags
ONE HECK OF A GOOD TIME!
Ride Safe
MikeyMike is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-30-2006, 10:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 115
iTrader: (0)
 
Mendez 90 bucks is a bit steep.. but the norm.. Up here in Olathe.. any dealer wants over $100. I borrowed a manometer mercury style from a friend of a friend for my kz1000 OMG it was like someone flipped a switch.. When they are in synch it just runs soooooo much better of course that is a 4 cylinder. For a two it should matter also.

too bad I didnt have a set for ya to borrow.. I am heading out west this weekend for opening weekend hunting.

06 vn900 Classic LT
85 vn700 Sold !!
81 kz1000ltd Sold !!
Olathe, KS
mstbone67a is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-31-2006, 01:22 AM
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,280
iTrader: (0)
 
Send a message via AIM to Hizzo3 Send a message via Yahoo to Hizzo3
you can make your own manometer with tubing a meter stick and oil..

'04 Vn750
Currently Installed
nat'l cycle deflector shield
westco 12v30 MF, 30A/h w/ 350 CCA's w/ custom box
TOC stator cover w/ Frankenstator mod!
R/R relo

Soon to have (own or on order)
TOC ACCT's
Mez's 110-FRT 170/80-Rear
Custom rear fender and tail light
Givi hard bags w/ custom rear turn signals


Band Engineer/Webmaster for Josey Contreras Tejano Band
Hizzo3 is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-31-2006, 02:28 AM
Once Banned
 
cegodsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bryant, Arkansas
Posts: 2,125
iTrader: (0)
 
When you're through, you can dump the stick and use the rest as an enema. Make sure the oil is mineral or canola oil, though!

2000 A16
Drilled baffles
$65 leather saddle bags
Kuryaken grips
relocated R/R
de-badged
25,000+ original owner miles
cegodsey is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 10-31-2006, 07:30 AM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Crobins365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 3,505
iTrader: (48)
     
Hey, Mendez!

Here's a link on the web for a $1.55 carb sync tool - http://www.powerchutes.com/manometer.asp (sorry - it doesn't appear to be a hot link). Works like a charm. The gist of it is that you're using 12 feet of pvc tubing against a yard stick (6 extra feet allows for the connections to the carbs), and then using a light oil (I used final drive oil in mine - fill so that the top of the oil is around 26" on each side) as your "barometer." Pull the vac hoses off the carbs, hook the manometer tubes (one to each carb) and turn the engine on. A higher draw in one tube means that carb has a higher vacuum - the carb adjusting screw (down by the throttle cables) adjusts *only* the rear carb (your goal is to adjust the rear carb so the vac is equal to the front carb).

If you need more info on how to actually do the syncing, just holler. A few of us have blundered our way through the process (some with a vacuum pump, others (like moi) without), and it *really* makes a difference in the bike's performance.

C

Last edited by Crobins365; 10-31-2006 at 07:33 AM.
Crobins365 is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-18-2007, 08:43 PM Thread Starter
Love it or Leave it
 
ssmendez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hutchinson,Ks
Posts: 87
iTrader: (1)
 
Send a message via Yahoo to ssmendez
I made my own manometer and made it look really fancy.The problem that I encountered, was that one carb, I think the rear carb,tried to suck the oil out of the tube.I was lost then.
ssmendez is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome