Hard to start issue? - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Carbs and Fuel System
From the gas tank to the carbs
All fuel system discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 04-19-2013, 09:22 PM Thread Starter

Hard to start issue?

I have a friend who has a '98 vulcan 750. He says it has a hard time starting when cold. He also doesn't ride often. He is convinced it needs a stage 1 jet kit. The bike is stock.

I think it just needs the carbs removed, taken apart, cleaned, and put back together. Maybe shim the needles to give it a bit more pep. Maybe drain and replace all the fuel, maybe replace the plugs, maybe see if the oil level is too high (too much oil or maybe fuel in the oil).

I've never worked on a vulcan before. I've messed with honda's inline 4, honda's v-twins, suzuki v-twins, and a tiny bit on a kawasaki baby ninja.

I've read several posts that say the airbox and carbs are a real pain to get out and even more of a pain to get back in.

Is there any Vulcan-specific issues that I should check first before tearing the carbs out? What do you guys think will cause a hard start issue?

I'm thinking clean the jets, new fuel, correct oil level, good battery, good plugs, good spark and the bike should have no issues starting right up, right?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 04-19-2013, 10:27 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ken99287 View Post
I'm thinking clean the jets, new fuel, correct oil level, good battery, good plugs, good spark and the bike should have no issues starting right up, right?
True.

A good battery is an AGM, maintenance free battery. This will help greatly with startups if he doesn't have one yet.

1985 VN700 unknown mileage (over 33K)

AGM Battery
Iridium spark plugs
NGK wires and caps
Relocated R/R
Marbled
post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 04-20-2013, 11:26 AM Thread Starter

Update.