Backblowing a carb to clean. - Page 3 - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Carbs and Fuel System
From the gas tank to the carbs
All fuel system discussion

 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #21 of 49 (permalink) Old 07-18-2013, 11:23 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GreenwoodFrickinLakeNY
Posts: 10,354
iTrader: (8)
   
I made a new tool (attachment) for my compressor to do this (@25psi)....will post pics after this weekend....maybe even a video....if I can find my tripod and figure out my new cam...



Wolfie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 49 (permalink) Old 08-05-2013, 10:04 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GreenwoodFrickinLakeNY
Posts: 10,354
iTrader: (8)
   
Quote:
haha. funny guy
Dunno who added this junk to my rep...but really....siiiiiigh.....



Wolfie is offline  
post #23 of 49 (permalink) Old 10-02-2013, 11:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Albany Georgia
Posts: 63
iTrader: (0)
 
Can you do this with the Carb still on the bike?
vinhtvu2 is offline  
 
post #24 of 49 (permalink) Old 10-02-2013, 12:37 PM
Senior Member
 
HardRock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Saranac, MI , USA
Posts: 196
iTrader: (0)
 
Yes it can be done with the carbs on the bike.
HardRock is offline  
post #25 of 49 (permalink) Old 10-02-2013, 06:15 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GreenwoodFrickinLakeNY
Posts: 10,354
iTrader: (8)
   
Like Rock said...yes, definitely....thats why this method was conceived....its a "quick fix", often permanent, to a problem common with CVKs....I learned this from guys who run 38 and 40mm CVK Keihins on their Harleys....
You can actually do it while on the road even if needed....a flat screwdriver and a hose is all thats needed....phillips if you still have your stock intake.



Wolfie is offline  
post #26 of 49 (permalink) Old 10-03-2013, 02:01 AM
Ndr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 856
iTrader: (10)
 
Yeah, this saved us a few months ago on a day trip. Was out with a few friends and my brother. He was on my Rebel, his first trip out for more then the commute to work. He ended up dumping the bike in some gravel, and after getting the bike back up, it didn't want to start. After several tries to get the bike started, and with the battery almost dead from cranking, I remember about this trick.
I pulled the vent hoses of the carb, drained the bowl, and attached one of the vent hoses to the bottom of the bowl.

Worked flawlessly. After opening the petcock back up, the bike started right back up.

......I'd rather wake up in the middle of nowhere then in any city on earth.

*2014 VN900 Custom (16,200 miles and counting)
Ndr is offline  
post #27 of 49 (permalink) Old 10-03-2013, 12:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Big Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Australia.
Posts: 493
iTrader: (0)
 
I think a tube on the bowl drain into a glass jar,might also identify any water in the fuel.for which I'm thinking of installing knobs on my needle valves. Spluttering coffing missing nightmare worries, over a little water!
Big Nick is offline  
post #28 of 49 (permalink) Old 10-20-2013, 01:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 459
iTrader: (0)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
Ive written the proceedure one too many times in threads, so here it is as a sticky.
I do the same but with carb cleaner. The red tube that comes with it fits perfectly in the bowl drain for backflushing.
RobertGary1 is offline  
post #29 of 49 (permalink) Old 10-20-2013, 03:02 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: GreenwoodFrickinLakeNY
Posts: 10,354
iTrader: (8)
   
Sure....that'll work too....same principle....I just dont like overusing carb cleaners, including SeaFoam, as they will eventually break down any rubber or neoprene parts....the key is that youre removing dirt/particles in the same direction they entered...



Wolfie is offline  
post #30 of 49 (permalink) Old 05-05-2014, 02:02 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Des Moines Iowa
Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)
 
Thank you so much for this post. Fixed my sticky float problem without pulling the carbs. Now I'm going to dose it with Seafoam(good stuff used it for years) for a few tanks and hopefully not have to mess with it again.
Havok750 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome