86 vulcan750 hard start... - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Carbs and Fuel System
From the gas tank to the carbs
All fuel system discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-14-2012, 04:42 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
photobuff4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sanford Maine
Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)
 
86 vulcan750 hard start...

Hi all...have an '86 vulcan750 w/10k miles on it. Can't get it to start except with starting fluid. Battery new mf/fully charged. Adjusted acc and dec cables , and choke as well. really baffled...when It starts will not stay running unless I give it some throttle. Good spark from plugs, gapped correctlly...Trying to get this beast running so I can ride this season......any thoughts...thanks
photobuff4u is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-14-2012, 05:03 PM
Patriot Guard Rider
 
The DEUCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 825
iTrader: (20)
 
Welcome to the VN750 Insanity.

It sounds like a fuel problem. Did you clean your carbs?

1986 Black Kawasaki Vulcan VN750 "Black KAWK"
VN750 #9300 & VROC #33453

EMGO Handlebar, V&H Exhaust, Drop Shocks, Raised/Painted Fork, MeanStreak Seat, Tank Bib, ME880 Oversize Tires, Engine Guard, Custom Mirrors, Chris Products Turn Signals, Ear Shave, 150/42 Jets, PINGEL Fuel Valve, MCCT, Volt Meter, Shendegen R/R, AGM Battery, Coastered, .020 Coils, Relo Gauges & Headlamp, SilverStar Ultra, LED Flashing Brake Light, Center Stand Delete, WOLO Airhorn.
The DEUCE is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-14-2012, 05:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 619
iTrader: (0)
 
Sounds like blocked carbs, won't tickover idle jets blocked, try carb cleaner, if you can get it running get some seafoam into it.
Swagman is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-14-2012, 05:16 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
photobuff4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sanford Maine
Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)
 
thanks for the feedback...The fellow I got it from said he cleaned out carbs and it was running for abt 2k miles when he had it. He stored it for the winter and had stabil in the tank. He drove it to my house, but needed starting fluid to get it running.....I guess once you can get it running a while it can be driven. I'm not taking chances on putting it on the road until I'm confident it won't fail on me....
photobuff4u is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-14-2012, 05:23 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
photobuff4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sanford Maine
Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)
 
thanks for feedback...Previous owner cleaned carbs with spray, and put about 2k miles on before he stored it for winter. Had stabil in tank, but needs starting fluid to get it to fire up....maybe carbs not as clean as he claims....guess I'll be trying that angle...thanks again...
photobuff4u is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-14-2012, 05:35 PM
romeobravo172
 
romeobravo172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Leesburg,Fl
Posts: 842
iTrader: (18)
 
Send a message via Skype™ to romeobravo172
Sounds like at the very least the idle/throttling jets are clogged,they have the tinest of holes in them to allow fuel flow. Does it run at all with choke ingaged, say half or full? Is the petcock working properly allowing fuel to carbs ? Sounds like it may be simple or more complicated! Keep watching here am sure you will find answers.

04-3,200 miles bought July 2011 with 928 miles. Loaded with acessories to many to list here, see my albums for more details! I also make a custom tank bib specific for the 750 if anyone is interested, ck my albums for some pics.
romeobravo172 is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-14-2012, 06:27 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
photobuff4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sanford Maine
Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)
 
choke has no effect, cable moves ok, and linkage seems to travel to end position on handle and at other end by carb. To clean jet, carb has to come off and be disassembled right....No way to back flush is there?
photobuff4u is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-14-2012, 06:41 PM
romeobravo172
 
romeobravo172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Leesburg,Fl
Posts: 842
iTrader: (18)
 
Send a message via Skype™ to romeobravo172
You can try straight seafoam into the carbs, take the 2 fuel lines off petcock, the 2 pointing toward the carbs, the one coming straight up to petcock is the vacume line that lets fuel flow. Drain carbs of any fuel in bowls, there is a set screw for this on each carb, fuel will come out a little nipple, close them back and add the seafoam straight into the two fuel lines, like with a syringe or eye-dropper. Let sit like 24 hrs, drain , put fresh fuel in, I would again with syringe ect and try to start. Ck petcock that it is free flowing fuel! Pull the 2 fuel lines off petcock, pull vacume line off the front carb and introduce vacume to it, literally suck on it a little, if the petcock is ok fuel will literally flow from the 2 outlet nozzles!! Make sure PC is in the ON position!! Or RES with fuel in tank!

04-3,200 miles bought July 2011 with 928 miles. Loaded with acessories to many to list here, see my albums for more details! I also make a custom tank bib specific for the 750 if anyone is interested, ck my albums for some pics.
romeobravo172 is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-14-2012, 07:30 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
photobuff4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sanford Maine
Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)
 
thanks for the suggestions, we will try all that as soon as it stops raining here....
photobuff4u is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-19-2012, 09:24 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
photobuff4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sanford Maine
Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)
 
Hi all......Well I can get it to start now by using no choke, then turning throttle full advance, holding a moment then let it return, while start button is pressed. When it fires, I have to advance throttle by jiggling to keep it running until it warms a bit and stabilizes....any thoughts as to what I have to do to make this beast fire up like a normal bike should lol.....thanks everyone....
photobuff4u is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome