Carbs and Fuel System
From the gas tank to the carbs
All fuel system discussion

1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 34 (permalink) Old 03-28-2012, 06:08 AM Thread Starter
Members who have donated towards server costs

pod filters

Here is yet another reason not to use pod filters. Most of my tuning experience has been with carbureted American car engines, I have very little experience with bikes, especially street bikes. I've always known that pod filters let a lot more dirt through, but here is something else I never even thought of, regarding their use on newer motorcycles. This is a post from another forum, form someone who does know something about motorcycle tuning.

"The big issue is that most carbureted bikes from the '80s on up, uses Constant Velocity carbs. The throttle controls only a butterfly valve. The slide and jet needle, which affect air flow and fuel metering, operate by a vacuum diaphragm that is controlled by negative pressure within the carburetor throat (venturi). It's a clever design, intended to keep the engine from bogging when the throttle is whacked open, but it's designed to work as a system with the airbox. So, switching to pod filters not only affects the fuel flow through the pilot and main jets, but also throws the slide calibration out of whack. Good luck trying to retune to compensate for all of that"

I am a motorcyclist, NOT a biker.

1997 Vulcan 750, purchased about a week ago
2006 Sportster 1200 Low
2013 Royal Enfield Bullet 500, converted to carb
2001 Yamaha XT225, heavily modified
2004 Honda Rebel 250
1979 Vespa P200E
2002 Vulcan 750 parts bike
1994 Yamaha XT225 parts bike
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 34 (permalink) Old 03-28-2012, 07:43 AM

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by VN750Rider/Jerry View Post