Gas Gauge - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Carbs and Fuel System
From the gas tank to the carbs
All fuel system discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-29-2012, 11:14 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)
 
Question Gas Gauge

I own a 1990 750 Vulacn 17,788 and still counting. My gas gauge is not working. All of my other gauges work execpt the fuel gauge. I have been resesting the trip omedeter to detrmine when I have to fill up, and I'm getting tired of that.

What can cause it not to work it just shows empty.

I have looked online and at my local stores for just a brand new gauge system, but I cant seem to find none either.

Please I would appreiacte if i could get some helpful feedback - I don't wanna brake down anymore. Especially for a dumb reason like no gas

Thank's
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-29-2012, 11:19 AM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
flitecontrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Monroe, LA
Posts: 4,699
iTrader: (14)
 
have you checked to be sure the wires from the fuel sensor are plugged in and there's no corrosion on the contacts?

I'm keepin' all the left over parts. I'm gonna use 'em to build another bike!
_____________________________________________
"Black Beauty"
1989 VN750 acquired December, 2008, 6,711 miles
Currently 23,298 miles

Old Blue
2001 Honda CMX250 Rebel acquired July, 2008

1987 VN750 project bike, acquired August, 2009, 33,000 miles and balancer sticking out of the case, currently awaiting attention and parts
flitecontrol is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-29-2012, 11:25 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)
 
Question

Yes and No I looked over the whole bike every things looks good to me but I'm not to for sure where the fuel sensor is - I'm trying to get my hands on a manual so I can figure this out. I was browsing on here and found that it might be under the seat but I;m not sure?
 
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-29-2012, 11:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 619
iTrader: (0)
 
Check the wiring connector under the seat near the back of the tank, check the sender unit underneath the tank.
Swagman is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-29-2012, 12:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Joem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Springfield MO
Posts: 659
iTrader: (3)
 
When you pull the seat is it a approx 1/2" square plastic plug, probably over to the left side pretty close to the tank. On mine the plug has become a bit loose from all of the times I have removed the tank. I finally had to tape it closed because it kept vibrating apart.

"Shutting up rarely leads to anything bad"

Joe McAdoo
Springfield, MO
[email protected]
VROC # 28175
-2004 Vulcan 1500 Classic 22000 miles
-1995 VN750 (Back home again!) 25000 miles
-1995 Suzuki DR350 Dualsport 1720 miles
Joem is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-29-2012, 01:04 PM
..have a vulcan good day!
 
WilliamTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Pensacola, FL.
Posts: 4,508
iTrader: (17)
   
fuel guage

It is not likely the actual gauge being defective. Likely the connector or wiring, I needed to replace the sender in the tank. I've read on this forum some are able to solder repair the sending unit.
good Luck
WilliamTech

'86 VN750 13,700 mi -Stock
-Purchased 2008 w/8800mi
Replaced ALL Cables . Kuryakyn LED Voltmeter
SilverStar Ultra 9003/HB2 H4 Headlamp, Jardine Fwd Controls,
Iridiums DPR7EIX-9 & Wires, Tuxedo Mod, Coil Mod, P/U Sensor Mod, Fork Seals,
Splines Lubed - 11/4/2012 - MF AGM Battery
Additional Flashing LED Brake Light on Trunk
Dampers went out @ 13+K !
After TOC MCCT's..... so amazingly quiet I discovered a rattling heat shield on my stock exhaust !
...have a vulcan good day!
WilliamTech is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-29-2012, 02:01 PM
Old Fart
 
Knifemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Catawissa, MO
Posts: 11,679
iTrader: (4)
     
Garage
Are you familiar on how "reserve" works?

Not all bikes even have fuel gauges, if you run out of gas don't blame the bike.

As mentioned, check to connection under the seat. Someone here can tell you how to check the sending unit in the tank (where else would it be?) with a multitester to see if it's bad.

Not sure about the availability of a new one however if it needs to be replaced.

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/
Knifemaker is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-29-2012, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Ceal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,687
iTrader: (2)
 
The ohm range of the meter is in the manual... can't remember what the values are though.

Mine is shot. Took it out and one look at it told me it's the unit itself and not the wiring. It didn't even have a float on it anymore lol.

Even without the ohm range from the manual you can just take it out and look at it and if everything looks fine, just test it and it should give you a smooth increase/decrease in resistance.

There's a downloadable manual on here, I just don't have the link.

Also, yes, that's what reserve is there for... so you don't run out of fuel. Put it on "on" and when the bike starts acting like it's out of gas, pull to the side, put it on "res" and head to the nearest gas station, then switch it back to "on"after the fill up. Easy.

1985 VN700 unknown mileage (over 33K)

AGM Battery
Iridium spark plugs
NGK wires and caps
Relocated R/R
Marbled
Ceal is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-29-2012, 03:59 PM
Giggity!
 
kanuck69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ohio, Zanesville
Posts: 4,307
iTrader: (24)
     
Garage
You can find a down loadable version of the manual in my signature.
Also, the plug may be under your tank at the edge there the mounting bolt is, under your seat. That's where mine is. I don't remember if it was always there or if I rerouted it. Either way, if it's not connected or a bad contact your guage will read empty.
kanuck69 is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 02-29-2012, 05:55 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
OldHipWesTex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 306
iTrader: (1)
 
Send a message via Yahoo to OldHipWesTex
X2 on all above. The sending unit with the float is accessed from the bottom of the gas tank. I had a very very small wire on the sending unit that came loose ( solder was bad ) but once i fixed that gas gauge worked great. CAUTION: If you remove the whole sending unit from the bottom side of the gas tank, be sure to put a line up mark on the unit and the tank when you remove it. The sending unit can fit back into the tank in two (2) different ways. Only one way is right!


Vulcan #1 1993 - 28K
Vulcan #2 1999 - 26k
It All Comes Down To 3 Things:
#1 Fuel
#2 Spark
#3 Mechanical
Any One Fails - Then It Dont Run

____________________________________

ANTICIPATED MODS:
Build Fiberglass Fenders F/R
Mold & Cast New Turn Signals Lights
OldHipWesTex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome