One probelm fixed, another started - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Carbs and Fuel System
From the gas tank to the carbs
All fuel system discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-08-2011, 08:21 PM Thread Starter
Members who have donated towards server costs

One probelm fixed, another started

Hello all, just have a question that i want to run by y'all, I think i have an idea of the problem, but i am no mechanic, so was reaching out for some help.

I picked up a 2002, with 3500 miles on it about a month ago. When i got it it was running on one cylinder at idle and when it passed about 3500 rpms it would take off. It was very slow on the lower end of the power band, sooooo, i took the bike to a local shop (trusted mechanic i know), and had them do a carb job for me.

Well with my pockets a little lighter, i got the bike back and was impress with the smooth acceleration in all rpms, and it really is running nice now. So onto the problem.... Prior to having the carbs gone through, the bike started like a dream, pull the "choke" on an the engine would turn over 2-3 times and spring to life. well now, after having the carb work done, i cannot get the bike to start without using throttle and full choke (regardless of temperature and if the bike has been running recently or not). Once the engine takes off, i do not have to keep the throttle on, it will keep going on its own, but also seems to take significantly longer to warm up.

Onto the bike, it is stone cold stock. Things that are going to be done to it include spark plugs per this sites recs, new battery (when my wet cell one craps out- PO put a brand new one in prior to selling).

The bike itself it running fine, there is no popping on decel, the plugs look good when i pulled them last night. It also appears that the plunders for the enrichment circuit are coming out when choke is applied and going back in when taken off.