Gas Guage Indicator Quit Working - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Carbs and Fuel System
From the gas tank to the carbs
All fuel system discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-03-2011, 12:12 AM Thread Starter
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
OldHipWesTex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 306
iTrader: (1)
 
Send a message via Yahoo to OldHipWesTex
Gas Guage Indicator Quit Working

Grrrrrrrr.... fix one thing another one shows its ugly head. Ok guys, is it my guage on the forks or the sending unit from the gas tank before i start tearing her down again. Any one got an quick check method of troubleshooting this one? All donations appreciated


Vulcan #1 1993 - 28K
Vulcan #2 1999 - 26k
It All Comes Down To 3 Things:
#1 Fuel
#2 Spark
#3 Mechanical
Any One Fails - Then It Dont Run

____________________________________

ANTICIPATED MODS:
Build Fiberglass Fenders F/R
Mold & Cast New Turn Signals Lights

Last edited by OldHipWesTex; 10-03-2011 at 12:15 AM.
OldHipWesTex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-03-2011, 01:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Ceal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,687
iTrader: (2)
 
You could probably check impedance from the sender unit to see if it's working right.

Somebody posted the right values for it but I don't remember them (it was probably OlHossCanada lol).
Ceal is offline  
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-03-2011, 10:20 AM
Old Fart
 
Knifemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Catawissa, MO
Posts: 11,602
iTrader: (4)
     
Garage
And you can try taking the seat off to see if it's still plugged in....

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/
Knifemaker is offline  
 
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-03-2011, 12:38 PM
Member
 
psvines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Albemarle VA
Posts: 57
iTrader: (0)
 
How reliable is the fuel guage? Mine seems to fluctuate greatly so I tend to ignore it and just check the tank before riding and pay attention to the mileage. (kind of like those in an airplane).
psvines is offline  
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-03-2011, 12:47 PM
Old Fart
 
Knifemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Catawissa, MO
Posts: 11,602
iTrader: (4)
     
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by psvines View Post
How reliable is the fuel guage? Mine seems to fluctuate greatly so I tend to ignore it and just check the tank before riding and pay attention to the mileage. (kind of like those in an airplane).
When it says it's "Full".... Your tank is full. When it says "empty"... Your tank is likely empty....Everything in between is a rough estimate.

You can learn what the readings actually mean after a few years.....

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/
Knifemaker is offline  
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-03-2011, 02:24 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 448
iTrader: (3)
 
Could be a bad fuel gauge or a broken wire.
You can pull the sender and check for broken wires on the sending unit itself. There is a thin wire wrapped around a piece of plastic, and they start out close together, and separate as they go along. That wire is what changes the resistance to the gauge in the dash. If that wire is broken, then the gauge will quit working.
You can check the resistance with an Ohm meter. Hook the leads up to the wires from the unit, and slowly move the float and watch the readings. If the reading stays the same, you most likely have a broken wire. If the reading changes, then most likely the sender is good.
RakerBill is offline  
post #7 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-03-2011, 10:06 PM Thread Starter
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
OldHipWesTex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 306
iTrader: (1)
 
Send a message via Yahoo to OldHipWesTex
Thanks RakerBill,,, i checked the plugin under the seat and all was well there. But, went ahead and pulled the tank off,,,, did a quick check on the plug going to the fuel gauge indicator and the fuel indicator will slowly run up to full. I pulled the float system out of the tank and didnt see any thing wrong, but with the ohm meter their is no change in the ohms,, just shows and OPEN circuit, so, now,, i suspect the sending unit is bad, didnt see any broken wires or such .
Thanks to all !!!


Vulcan #1 1993 - 28K
Vulcan #2 1999 - 26k
It All Comes Down To 3 Things:
#1 Fuel
#2 Spark
#3 Mechanical
Any One Fails - Then It Dont Run

____________________________________

ANTICIPATED MODS:
Build Fiberglass Fenders F/R
Mold & Cast New Turn Signals Lights
OldHipWesTex is offline  
post #8 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-04-2011, 02:34 AM
Chucklehead
 
dragon159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Poynette WI
Posts: 1,050
iTrader: (3)
 
Sounds like yet another broken connection under the metal sheild on the sending unit. It can be repaired depending your skill with soldering iron and patience. But to verify if the guage is working, jumper the plug under the seat and turn the ignition on, should swing to full.

87 vn750at least that is what the frame #'s say
"Squirrel Bike" aka Jersey

Rat bike with a good PR agent

shaved and coastered
2 into 1 exhaust
rear 170 and front 110
Relocated R/R
custom dash with voltmeter
Spitfire windscreen
Plutonium plugs
Recovered seat without "butt hammers"
More to come
Praise to the Parts Goddess Crobins for needed things

When someone tells me "Great minds think alike" all I can think is "You Pervert"
dragon159 is offline  
post #9 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-04-2011, 09:17 PM
Rider on the Storm
 
EasyRector's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,287
iTrader: (1)
 
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knifemaker View Post
And you can try taking the seat off to see if it's still plugged in....
Yes, this happened to me once!

EZC

EasyRector is offline  
post #10 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-04-2011, 09:25 PM Thread Starter
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
OldHipWesTex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 306
iTrader: (1)
 
Send a message via Yahoo to OldHipWesTex
Yep the guage will swing to full crossing the wires, so i guess i will recheck the sending unit again.. didnt notice any broken wires but these eyes fail me from time to time. Thanks Guys !!!


Vulcan #1 1993 - 28K
Vulcan #2 1999 - 26k
It All Comes Down To 3 Things:
#1 Fuel
#2 Spark
#3 Mechanical
Any One Fails - Then It Dont Run

____________________________________

ANTICIPATED MODS:
Build Fiberglass Fenders F/R
Mold & Cast New Turn Signals Lights
OldHipWesTex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome