'85 VN700 doesn't run right at all - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Carbs and Fuel System
From the gas tank to the carbs
All fuel system discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-12-2006, 10:37 PM Thread Starter

'85 VN700 doesn't run right at all

I'm not sure what the problem is, but it at least has to do with the fuel system or carbs. I got the bike about a month and a half ago, and it had been off the road with a leaky gas tank. I got that patched, however, getting everything else dialed in has been...problematic. I'm new at this, it is my first bike.

In any case, I took it out tonight (tried to take it out tonight), and got about .2 miles on it, but could not keep it running for love nor money. Here is a laundry list of issues:
  • Cold starts are somewhat hard. It has been in the 90s here and I have had to use the choke to get it running at times.
  • I started it two days ago, and had to use the choke. When it started, it ran high but was blowing gray smoke.
  • Tonight I was going to run down the block on it, and found that every time I gave it gas, it died...Including when I was riding it.
  • If it died, hitting the starter brought it back to life.
  • If I start it in gear holding the clutch, it lurches forward slightly.

Note that I currently have SeaFoam in the tank in the hopes of cleaning out any crud in the carbs. I don't know if the previous owner drained the bowls when he had the tank welded.

I also took the liberty of doing a test start and run on the bike and recording it on my mp3 player. I am hoping some kind soul will be able to point me in the right direction. As I said, this is my first bike, and while I have worked on cars before, at least in the realm of "routine maintenance," bikes are a whole 'nother can'o'worms. Can someone who knows these engines take a listen? I have zero experience with V-Twins, so I don't know whats normal and whether I'm jumping at ghosts.