From carb drops offline at idle - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Carbs and Fuel System
From the gas tank to the carbs
All fuel system discussion

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-03-2011, 12:35 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 459
iTrader: (0)
 
From carb drops offline at idle

Sometimes (increasingly often) at idle the front carb does not do much. If I pull the front plugs there is no change in RPM. I can actually pull the rear plugs and the bike will idle on the front but at a much lower RPM than if I pull the two front plugs. It sounds like a carb sync issue except that it doesn't happen every time. In fact when I drop down to idle it will initially "stop" at the higher RPM typical of both cylinders firing then within a second or two further drop down to the RPM typical of the front cylinder not doing much.

-Robert
RobertGary1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-03-2011, 12:36 AM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
try the carb sync and go from there.
slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-03-2011, 01:12 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 459
iTrader: (0)
 
Can I do the carb sync with a generic vac gauge or is there a better procedure?
RobertGary1 is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-03-2011, 09:55 AM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Crobins365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 3,505
iTrader: (48)
     
http://www.ppcflyingforums.org/forum...read.php?t=235

http://www.powerchutes.com/manometer.asp

Here are a couple of links on how to make your own manometer. If you can find the right inner diameter tubing (7/32, I think), you're in business.

Before buying all of these expensive parts LOL, check your spark plug wires and make sure you don't have a split in them somewhere. You could be grounding out on one of the wires intermittently, leaving that plug without power.

C
Crobins365 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome