Single Filter Ear Shave w/ K&N RC-3240 - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Carbs and Fuel System
From the gas tank to the carbs
All fuel system discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-28-2011, 12:09 PM Thread Starter
Members who have donated towards server costs

Garage
Single Filter Ear Shave w/ K&N RC-3240

Finally got my parts in and decided to take yesterday off to play with the V. Started Thurs. evening really & got most of the work done, but the agenda was finishing the ear shave using the short K&N single filter element.

Ended up slicing/melting the airbox into a top half & bottom half with a razor blade clamped in my vise grips. Whoever suggested the "hot knife" method - thanks! I started playing with a hack saw blade, but that was a futile effort...

Put little chrome breather from Autozone/Oreillys for the crank breather attached with a 3/4" to 1/2" brass plumbing adapter from Lowes. I slid the hose clamp on the breather down just a tiny bit to cover up the visible ring of brass separating the two bits and it's invisible now. For the time being, it's just hanging where Ma Kaw put it, but I'll likely fab some sort of stay for it eventually.

The rubber carb ducts got the flanges ground down / off. The rear one needed trimmed off a little to let the filter drop down low enough for tank clearance. For the duct to filter connection, I got a $3 2" exhaust connector and chopped in in half. The connector tubes are clamped into the K&N, and then pressed into the carb ducts. I should probably clamp these connections too, but they're on tight and I had a heck of a time getting the filter back off on Friday morning after sitting from Thursday night, so I'm not too worried about leaks there. The tank will "squish" down to it's original position like this, but I have about 3/8" of spacers under the rear tank bolt to give everything a little breathing room.