Thanks to the vn750 community and new advice asked - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Carbs and Fuel System
From the gas tank to the carbs
All fuel system discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 09-05-2009, 12:13 PM Thread Starter

Send a message via Skype™ to wouter
Thanks to the vn750 community and new advice asked

First, a word of gratitude towards this community, as this forum has enabled me to take apart the cooling system of my vn750, revise it and put it back to working order. Changed all the hoses, cleaned the thermostat inside and out, cleaned out the grub (I believe nobody had ever done this on this bike since 1995), cleaned the contacts, etc. Quite a job because here in Brazil the original parts are hard to get. I had to adapt automobile parts but it turned out ok.

Now, as a newborn mechanic I also managed to pull the carbs, install new intake rubbers and reinstall the whole set. That was really a hell of a job, and I did it alone, if you don't count the good and bad spirits I called present during the process. It went a lot better when I discovered that it was possible to take the air surge ducts out (this is when I discovered that a previous lunatic had poked a hole in one of them).

I cleaned the carbs as far as I could without taking them apart, replaced all the hoses and clamps, and discovered that probably they hadn't been connected correctly by the same previous lunatic. As I am having some difficulty in adjusting the carbs, let me just present how I connected the hoses and put the initial adjustments. I'd really appreciate some feedback, as I feel I am close to a really better running bike.

So here I go. First consider that:

1. I marbled the hoses.
2. Probably the vacuum synchronization is way off.

Now here are the connections I made:

1. Two fuel hoses connect the tank to the front and rear carburetors. I haven´t missed out on these ones I believe.