Fun with jets ..... - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Carbs and Fuel System
From the gas tank to the carbs
All fuel system discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-13-2009, 05:59 PM Thread Starter
Chucklehead

Fun with jets .....

Ok I am asking the carb gurus here for help to see if I'm overlooking something. To start off, I did the shave and coaster bit as well as the wild exhaust pipe. I changed the jets (140 main 40 pilot) and shimmed the needles. Once I got it all together it started up fine but wouldn't rev past 4K no matter what I did. Checked for vacuum leaks and found none. After a little thinking and head scratching I removed the shims on a chance and she revved right up no problem. I rode it that way for a bit and noticed it was running on the rich side (could smell it barely). So I started playing with the jets again. I changed the new jets for the stockers (138 main 38 pilot). She started fine and idled well but as soon as I pulled out on the road she fell on her face, so I knew that wasn't going to work. After a little more thinking and head scratching, I switched out the main jet but left the pilot jets (140 mains and 38 pilots are in it now). Everything seems to be running fairly well but from a sart up to about 4K she sounds a bit off, like maybe I should go back to the 40's. But the performance she has now after 4K is amazing!
The main questions are,am I missing something here where I can lean the carbs out more with the bigger jets? Does the lack of shims have anything to do with all this? Should I just shut up and ride and deal with it? Do I try to find 39 pilots?

I await guidence.

Or a swift kick.

87 vn750at least that is what the frame #'s say
"Squirrel Bike" aka Jersey

Rat bike with a good PR agent

shaved and coastered
2 into 1 exhaust
rear 170 and front 110
Relocated R/R
custom dash with voltmeter
Spitfire windscreen
Plutonium plugs
Recovered seat without "butt hammers"