Staling after Seafoam clean - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Carbs and Fuel System
From the gas tank to the carbs
All fuel system discussion

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-03-2009, 07:19 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jace Bror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Prior Lake (MPLS area), MN
Posts: 950
iTrader: (1)
 
Staling after Seafoam clean

So I poured some straight Seafoam into the fuel lines. Let it sit there for a few hours. Took a little while to start and when it did puffed smoke. try to ride and soon as any amount of throttle is applied no matter how small it dies. it idles just fine. right now the engine is fully warmed up. so I know that it has to be running regular fuel now. but still soon as I apply the throttle it dies. the choke open or closed doesn't matter.
Jace Bror is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-03-2009, 07:26 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 96
iTrader: (1)
 
Jace
I had the same problem, but I ran mine through the tank. Ended up taking the petcock apart and cleaning it. I guess it broke some gunk loss and stoped up the pc. Also I ran some straight through the right carb, wrong thing to do, burnt the right pipe realy bad. From now on I will only use it as directed.
CapHAB is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-03-2009, 07:30 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 96
iTrader: (1)
 
By the By when it gets into the carbs it will smoke like a mosiquito sprayer for a while. It may have losened som gunk in the carbs, hope you dont have to take them down for a cleaning.
CapHAB is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-03-2009, 07:34 PM
Simple Solutions
 
seebeeare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: SEQUIM, WA
Posts: 965
iTrader: (3)
 
Send a message via MSN to seebeeare Send a message via Yahoo to seebeeare
try and hose the carbs with carb cleaner... then apply a lil starter fluid and see if u can force the bike into the upper rpm range ... once there try and plug the carbs by hand one at a time at high rpms to see if u can suck whatever gunk may be in there through... if this doesnt work it may be carb dunk time...



Stator #3
MF AGM
DeGoated
Ears Shaved
R/R relocated
Rebuilt



She's worth her weight in GOLD
If u dont have it already Here is the Service Manual
How To Test the Stator
seebeeare is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-03-2009, 07:41 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
fergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kyle, Texas
Posts: 4,054
iTrader: (3)
   
What did it do before you tried the seafoam bath? Just curious as to what caused you to want to do a full soaking. I'm not saying you shouldn't have done it, just wondering what the symptoms were before the seafoam.

It sounds like something is clogging your main jets or your float valves won't let enough fuel in to do anything but idle. Could be the seafoam loosened up some gunk and it got shifted somewhere else in the carbs.

Fergy
Kyle, TX VN750.com member #707 VROC#19556
2002 VN1500 Classic
Spline Lube Procedure, with photos, R/R Relocation and Coil Mod
Rusty Tank Cleaning!
Electrical Fault Finding Flowchart
SEAFOAM JUNKIE!


fergy is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-03-2009, 07:45 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jace Bror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Prior Lake (MPLS area), MN
Posts: 950
iTrader: (1)
 
it seems to be okay now. I was trying to use the seafoam to clean everything out. guess I did. got her up to 100 and she ran fine.
now I have a new gremlin. No headlight. bulb checks out and fuse is okay. and the headlight indicator doesn't work either, and when I flip the lites from low to high the highbeam indicator doesn't lite up either. only thing I did electronically is stand up and whallop my head on the underside of the left controls. I am going to post this info in the electronic section also.
Jace Bror is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-03-2009, 07:53 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
fergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kyle, Texas
Posts: 4,054
iTrader: (3)
   
Dang! How hard did you hit it? Maybe the headlight is working and you just can't see it

Fergy
Kyle, TX VN750.com member #707 VROC#19556
2002 VN1500 Classic
Spline Lube Procedure, with photos, R/R Relocation and Coil Mod
Rusty Tank Cleaning!
Electrical Fault Finding Flowchart
SEAFOAM JUNKIE!


fergy is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-03-2009, 08:02 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jace Bror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Prior Lake (MPLS area), MN
Posts: 950
iTrader: (1)
 
I think I hit the clitch more then the actual control. I have no power at the fuse box either. all other lights work
Jace Bror is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome