OK, CA emissions and carbs - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Carbs and Fuel System
From the gas tank to the carbs
All fuel system discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-28-2009, 08:42 PM Thread Starter
1992 VN 750

OK, CA emissions and carbs

I have been putting some serious TLC into my new bike for 3 months and the last two weeks it ran perfect. Then, all of a sudden it starts to act up and backfire, sputter and have much reduced power. I can only think that the carbs have become clogged up a little and that is the next step to getting this baby purring again. Oh, I also decided to coaster, put on V and H cruzers and remove the CA emissions.

On the CA stuff...just pull it all and plug the right vent tube on the tank? Until the Cruzers get here next week do I need to also need to plug the vacuum line that goes to the bottom of the bike that went into the air diaphram in front of the battery?

The carbs coming off tomorrow...time to clean them! Is it as hard as I read on this site to get them off?

1992 VN 750 / 18,100 miles
V and H Cruzers
Earshaved and sheared
110/90 and 170/80 Metzeler 880s
AGM Battery
TPE Stator
Clear Alternatives LED brakelight
Saddleman Explorer Seat
Kurakyn Levers
VN750.com Grill cover
SCP Coasters
Iridium plugs
MOSFET R/R
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-28-2009, 09:02 PM
Newb with a Bullet!

The carbs are very difficult to get off. There is very little clearance around that hideous stock air breather box. I never took mine off myself- they've been off twice and each time were removed by friends who knew bikes well and were good mechanics- one was Kawi certified. And they both cursed blue streaks trying to get them off. Took them about 30-45 minutes and they knew what they were doing.