Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

Carb Question

4K views 25 replies 7 participants last post by  jkwpivot 
#1 ·
Hello Forum peeps, newbie here. I've had the VN750 about a year now. Had the carbs rebuilt by a local shop here in south Florida and the bike is running well. My question is about the open vacuum port in the picture. Pretty sure there was a tube connected but mechanic says not. Should it be capped? Thanks in advance

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
If you still have the emissions equipment in place, that vacuum port is connected to the air valve system (which has 2 big hoses, one going to the exhaust of each cylinder jug, and 1 small hose which runs to the vacuum port)

If the emissions equipment has been removed you can cap off the vacuum port.

Where does the disconnected hose in your picture go to?

#3 ·
Uber's probably right. Mine has a hose on it that runs off to the left (rearward) and disappears underneath the tank/seat area. My bike is totally stock (except for MCCTs). I'm thinking that black hose shown dropping down may be the one that is supposed to go up behind the right-side air filter.

#4 ·
Good point about the airbox drain hose. Let's try and demystify this a bit, shall we?

Left Carb Vacuum Port -> Fuel Petcock (Left-side of gas tank)
Right Carb Vacuum Port -> Air Valve (Underneath seat, near battery box) -OR- Capped off
Top of Carbs Vent Ports -> Tee-Fitting -> Back of Right-Hand-Side Air Filter Box
Front Bottom Air Intake Box -> *hangs freely beneath bike*

There's a buncha other hoses, but these are the most common ones I recall seeing questions about

#5 ·