Carb Question - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Carbs and Fuel System
From the gas tank to the carbs
All fuel system discussion

16Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 11-05-2019, 11:51 AM Thread Starter

Carb Question

Hello Forum peeps, newbie here. I've had the VN750 about a year now. Had the carbs rebuilt by a local shop here in south Florida and the bike is running well. My question is about the open vacuum port in the picture. Pretty sure there was a tube connected but mechanic says not. Should it be capped? Thanks in advance
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bike22.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	84.7 KB
ID:	46773  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 11-05-2019, 12:04 PM

If you still have the emissions equipment in place, that vacuum port is connected to the air valve system (which has 2 big hoses, one going to the exhaust of each cylinder jug, and 1 small hose which runs to the vacuum port)

If the emissions equipment has been removed you can cap off the vacuum port.

Where does the disconnected hose in your picture go to?

Earshave+Rejet (38/135) NGK Iridiums MCCT Conversion Slipstreamer S03 Windshield Custom Extended Backrest Custom Highway Bars MOSFET R/R LED Underglow Volt+USB In-Dash Two-Wire & Blue-Wire Mod Satin Black Engine Paint Dampers Parts - Jets: Main=99101-393(#132 stock)/Pilot=n424-22 Pilot(#38 stock)
post #3 of 26 (permalink) Old 11-05-2019, 12:12 PM
Retired USAF (IYAAYAS)

Garage
Uber's probably right. Mine has a hose on it that runs off to the left (rearward) and disappears underneath the tank/seat area. My bike is totally stock (except for MCCTs). I'm thinking that black hose shown dropping down may be the one that is supposed to go up behind the right-side air filter.

TOC MCCTs
Saddlebags, hard mounted
Fork mounted tool bag (now hard mounted)
Relocated rear turn signals
LED turn signals, brake lights and running lights
LED license plate frame