Carb questions - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Carbs and Fuel System
From the gas tank to the carbs
All fuel system discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-27-2019, 11:38 AM Thread Starter

Carb questions

I'm new to a dual carb setup but not new to carbs in general.

A little history on this 750. She's a 95 and the previous owner did an ear shave. However after completion he wasn't able to get her going again. He decided to let it go because he was over his head, his words. Now I've been able to sync the carbs and got them both primed. She'll run for a few and die out. Both lines are out of fuel at this point so I know it's a feed issue. I tested and cleaned the petcock and both sides flow perfectly. One cylinder runs (rear) but the other is weak and doesn't seem to run. In checking everything I found the front carb blows while the rear sucks. I'm fairly certain this is my flow issue as the vacuum, for the fuel, comes off the front carb.

My question is 2 fold. First is this normal? And second is not, fairly certain it's not, how do I go about fixing it. What would cause this? Oh also I know he had a leaking diaphragm, not sure which one, which he replaced.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-27-2019, 12:06 PM

Not normal. Some reversion may be seen, but a larger amount of air coming from the carb is not normal. If there's excess air exiting the carb throat, that's a problem.

Maybe an intake valve stuck/leaking in the front cylinder? How is the compression on the front cyl.? Just a thumb check should show if there's an intake valve leaking. The valve problem would prevent the cylinder from making much vacuum.

Could possibly be valve timing.

2003-21k mi
Shaved w/UniPK92+Stock Jets-TPE/MOSFET-Shinko Tires-AGM batt-bags-chrome-LEDs...more
__________________________________________________ ____________
Repair Manual: http://www.mediafire.com/file/mj7z81..._Catalogue.pdf