Trouble starting after sitting for a week - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Carbs and Fuel System
From the gas tank to the carbs
All fuel system discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 10-13-2018, 04:49 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Trouble starting after sitting for a week

I had the same problem last weekend, but once I got The Beast started up for the first time, I was fine.

The symptom while trying to start is exactly the same as when I have a battery that needs to be replaced. It tries to start, and just never does. The engine is turning over, but not starting.

One problem I have, since I'm still a novice at motorcycle mechanics, is making the choice at the fork in the road between electrical and fuel, because they're definitely different paths. I haven't yet learned to tell the difference with this type of not being able to start.

Battery is the easiest to check. When I need a new battery, I can tell because the cranking voltage goes way down below the magic 9.6 number. But I'm above 10 when cranking. And besides, I bought one of those NOCO portable jump starters, and the bike acts exactly the same way when I use that, both last week and this week.

Last week I tinkered with it a bit -- checking ground connections, etc -- and then just happened across a post that talked about giving it some throttle before trying to start, so I did that and it started right up, to my surprise.

Obviously I tried that today, and nothing. I have an 86, so I have a Prime setting on my petcock. I saw where somebody suggested turning that one for a minute or so, so I did that, and nothing.

I'm pretty sure it will start eventually. And I'm pretty sure I'll be fine, once it does. I should probably also go back to my routine or riding a little every day or two, just to keep from having this problem, because it does seem like this only happens when it's been sitting for a week.

Any thoughts? I'd love to not do this every weekend.