Choke Question - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Carbs and Fuel System
From the gas tank to the carbs
All fuel system discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-07-2018, 12:33 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
MileHighVulcan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)
 
Choke Question

Took apart my carbs due to it being over floated and got it all put back and everything seem to be fine. I took off the boots to the air box and put in k&n pods. I would be able to start my bike on full choke but I notice when it warm up before it would go to 4k rpm but now it only goes to 2k rpms, I'm guessing maybe it's due to not having enough pressure to hold the wire in place.

First question: Do riding with choke hurt the bike?

Second question: I would be able to ride the bike but when coming to a stop or slow down the bike would die (sometime it would stay on only with the choke on) most of the time it would die.(engine cut off)

Please help and much THANKS from the mile high city.
MileHighVulcan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-07-2018, 01:32 AM
Member
 
Birga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: SouthEast Alabama
Posts: 43
iTrader: (0)
 
Garage
Sounds like your running lean, these bikes run lean anyway and switching to K&N's just adds more air. Check the color of your plugs to confirm it's running lean then turn your fuel screws out to 2 1/2 to 2 3/4 on both carbs to see if it fixes it.

As for running with the choke, i don't see why it would hurt it. The choke is an enrichment circuit adding gas to the carbs so it shouldn't hurt anything.

Hopefully one of the more experienced members will chime in.
Birga is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-07-2018, 07:23 AM
Old Fart
 
Knifemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Catawissa, MO
Posts: 11,601
iTrader: (4)
     
Garage
Running with the choke won't "hurt" the bike, but it's an indication something's wrong....which should be fixed.

As suggested check your plugs, turn out your air screws AND reset your idle speed.

When you say you took off the boots to the airbox and put on pods, did you remove the system, or is that all you did?

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/
Knifemaker is online now  
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-07-2018, 11:10 AM
2014 KLR 650!
 
Goofyfoot2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tega Cay, SC
Posts: 3,359
iTrader: (1)
 
Yep, you are way lean. You can open the mix or you can put in larger pilot jets.

2014 Kawasaki KLR 650
Back to the Kawa World
Goofyfoot2001 is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-07-2018, 11:25 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
MileHighVulcan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knifemaker View Post
Running with the choke won't "hurt" the bike, but it's an indication something's wrong....which should be fixed.

As suggested check your plugs, turn out your air screws AND reset your idle speed.

When you say you took off the boots to the airbox and put on pods, did you remove the system, or is that all you did?
That's all I did everything else is still in place. Should I remove everything else ?
MileHighVulcan is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-07-2018, 11:29 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
MileHighVulcan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Birga View Post
Sounds like your running lean, these bikes run lean anyway and switching to K&N's just adds more air. Check the color of your plugs to confirm it's running lean then turn your fuel screws out to 2 1/2 to 2 3/4 on both carbs to see if it fixes it.

As for running with the choke, i don't see why it would hurt it. The choke is an enrichment circuit adding gas to the carbs so it shouldn't hurt anything.

Hopefully one of the more experienced members will chime in.

Sounds good, thank you
MileHighVulcan is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-07-2018, 04:43 PM
Old Fart
 
Knifemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Catawissa, MO
Posts: 11,601
iTrader: (4)
     
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by MileHighVulcan View Post
That's all I did everything else is still in place. Should I remove everything else ?
Well I have not done what we call an "earshave" here, so not sure what exactly needs to be done, but I do know the air lines running to the reed valves suck air from the filter system, so now yours is not filtered. Ditto for the crankcase vent.

Perhaps someone more familiar with the installation of pod filters can chime in....

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/
Knifemaker is online now  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-07-2018, 05:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Spockster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: WV
Posts: 6,483
iTrader: (5)
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knifemaker View Post
Well I have not done what we call an "earshave" here, so not sure what exactly needs to be done, but I do know the air lines running to the reed valves suck air from the filter system, so now yours is not filtered. Ditto for the crankcase vent.

Perhaps someone more familiar with the installation of pod filters can chime in....
Need to block off the reed boxes.
Need a filter on the crankcase vent hose.

Removing the air box frees up a lot of space, makes carb service easier. The airbox is just riding along now.

Are the carb vents still running into one ear? Ears still in place? Vents need to be in calm, still air.

2003-21k mi
Shaved w/UniPK92+Stock Jets-TPE/MOSFET-Shinko Tires-AGM batt-bags-chrome-LEDs...more
__________________________________________________ ____________
Repair Manual: http://www.mediafire.com/file/mj7z81..._Catalogue.pdf

Owner's Manual: http://www.mediafire.com/file/nscb5f...ers+Manual.pdf
Spockster is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-07-2018, 08:27 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
MileHighVulcan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)
 
So, to get to the fuel switch screw I would have to drill both of the plate out to get to the screw ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180607_182447_1528417556493.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	90.6 KB
ID:	44658  
MileHighVulcan is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-07-2018, 08:37 PM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,442
iTrader: (5)
 
yes the mixture screw lives behind that plug.. its soft, be careful drilling it, really just need a hole in it so that you can stick something in and pry it out

2005 VN750

Sold 11-27-17
michiganteddybear is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome