Hello all, newbie here with a stator question. - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-07-2005, 09:42 AM Thread Starter

Hello all, newbie here with a stator question.

I took my wife to a poker run last year and she won 1st place. She wanted a bike so I made a deal with her. She would complete a MC safety rider class and I would buy her a bike.

I choose a VN-750 and she loves it and has put 7,000 miles on it this summer.

Question:

All I read about (it seems) is how often stators burn out and that there is no way to fix or stop this problem.

1. Is this true?
2. How often do they fail?

One more question, it seems the regulator clamps the voltage by firing a thyristor and shorting the stator put put to ground once the regulator reaches float voltage. True?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-07-2005, 11:58 AM

Re: Hello all, newbie here with a stator question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by twins4life
I took my wife to a poker run last year and she won 1st place. She wanted a bike so I made a deal with her. She would complete a MC safety rider class and I would buy her a bike.

I choose a VN-750 and she loves it and has put 7,000 miles on it this summer.

Question:

All I read about (it seems) is how often stators burn out and that there is no way to fix or stop this problem.

1. Is this true?
2. How often do they fail?

One more question, it seems the regulator clamps the voltage by firing a thyristor and shorting the stator put put to ground once the regulator reaches float voltage. True?
1. Apparently it does happen and from what I have read on the forums a couple of things to do to help minimize problems are:

A. Remove goats belly (muffler that ties both exhaust pipes together as it causes alot of heat on the rectifier and battery.