92 750 won't start - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-06-2008, 02:09 PM Thread Starter

Question 92 750 won't start

hey guys and gals i'm pretty new to this motorcycle repair thing but i'm trying to help out a buddy. his bike won't turn over at all and i've been through 14 pages of the electrical forum. so this is what i.ve done so far fully charged the battery, checked and wire brushed connections at relay, checked continuity connecting wire from relay to starter, cleaned battery terminals, and made sure kickstand was up, bike was in nuetral, and clutch was engaged. all i get is a clicking sound from the relay when i hit the starter button. any info on this will be greatly appreciated, thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-06-2008, 03:03 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs

Sounds like you've been really thorough - what comes to mind now is the ground end of things. Check that all the ground wires are clean and coming into full contact with the frame (or whatever). Also, double-check that the starter lead is set up properly - the starter body itself serves to ground the unit, but the positive lead (from the relay) goes onto that little bolt at the bottom of the starter motor. There are some washers on the bolt that need to be in the right order for the thing to work - insulated washer, copper washer, positive lead, steel washer, bolt. If things still won't start, there's a possiblility that the insulation inside the starter unit is fubarred - but don't jump off that bridge just yet (it's an easy catch, but there are plenty of other troyubleshooting tips to be tried in the interim).

C
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-06-2008, 05:22 PM
Linkmeister Supreme

Quote:
Originally Posted by glette View Post