cry for help - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 07-28-2008, 11:28 PM Thread Starter

cry for help

I am new to the forum, so hello. I have been searching threads for the last week or so hoping some one would have had the same problem. Not quite. Now I need help.

I have an 1985 VN700. I am new to being an automotive mechanic and still learning. Don't know much about bikes besides what I have managed to fix or replace on mine.

Here is the issue. At midrange RPM the bike just surges. Acting like it is running out of gas. Problem two: tach bounces. Read that the ignitor is signal. So the contacts were cleaned and that didn't help.

Thought it was a clogged jet. But no. I rebuilt the carbs. Replace the fuel and vacuum lines. The carbs were synched. So I decided to test the ignitor itself. I got something like 23.6 MO on a few of the terminals and decided it was bad. So I ebayed one and replaced it. SAME PROBLEM. (the original was visually bad. I am curious and cracked it open and it was all green and corroded on the inside.)

Did I get a bad ignitor? Am I cursed? What else could this be?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 07-28-2008, 11:34 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs

If the ignitor were bad, the engine wouldn't run. It either works, or it doesn't. Semiconductors in this situation have no middle ground.
See the phantom out of gas syndrome threads for possible fix.
Bouncing tach can also be wiring from front coil to tach. See previous post by Poggi.
It could also be a vacuum leak or it could be your carb vent line is hanging in the breeze rather than stuck in the right ear where it goes.
We need more info to help you isolate the problem.

Jim W
93 VN 750 "Ursula"
Moved R/R 08Sep06
R/R rewire 17Feb07
New R/R, Installed 14Jun08