Asking someone with a multimeter to verify - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-17-2008, 10:50 AM Thread Starter
Chucklehead
 
dragon159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Poynette WI
Posts: 1,050
iTrader: (3)
 
Asking someone with a multimeter to verify

While The Other Woman is down I've taken the opportunity to repair a few things other than the motor. One of these was the fuel guage that told me I was always empty. Took out the sending unit and found a broken connection at the output rivet and soldered it back together. Now for peace of mind I'm wondering if someone would check resistance values on thier sending unit to see if I'm in the ballpark at least. Currently I get 17 ohms at what would be full tank and 116 ohms at empty. If nothing else I'll just have to wait until the electricals get hooked back up to test but I thought I'd ask anyway.
dragon159 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-17-2008, 11:18 AM
Junior Member
 
hosedragger105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 27
iTrader: (0)
 
I have the service manual at home, but am currently at work. I will check the values for you when I get back this afternoon and drop them on here asap.
hosedragger105 is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-17-2008, 11:35 AM Thread Starter
Chucklehead
 
dragon159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Poynette WI
Posts: 1,050
iTrader: (3)
 
No hurry ..... Won't have the new motor until next week anyway.
dragon159 is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-17-2008, 11:43 AM
and the Adventure Cycle
 
hyperbuzzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Western PA
Posts: 6,138
iTrader: (1)
   
This help?......



AKA: Tim & 'The Adventure Cycle' VROC #24567, NEVROC, SteelCity VROC


"When life throws you curves,
Aim for the apex."

Author Unknown
hyperbuzzin is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-17-2008, 12:25 PM
Now what
 
Ironman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Renton, Wa. USA
Posts: 400
iTrader: (0)
 
While you're messing around with the fuel gauge, maybe you'd like to try something for us. I've read that putting a 150 ohm resistor in line will one of the leads will help make the gauge more accurate. I have an adjustable resistor that I was going to use but of course, haven't gotten around to it. Personally, I'd like the gauge to be accurate at 1/2 a tank. (I don't even dare to dream that it could be accurate over the whole range) I figure accurate at 1/2 would be way more useful than say, accurate at empty So if someone (hint, hint) could figure out what resistance would accomplish this, it would be a great thing for Vulcankind.

'04 750A- and loving it!
VROC 13864
Using a Purlator One PL14610
"Sixth gear? I don't need no stinkin sixth gear!"
If someone throws you under the bus-remember to tuck and roll
Ironman is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-17-2008, 12:40 PM Thread Starter
Chucklehead
 
dragon159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Poynette WI
Posts: 1,050
iTrader: (3)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hyperbuzzin View Post
This help?......

It would if only this stupid work comp would let me see those pics lol. They won't even let me look at ebay or craigslist. and the comp is down at home.

I will even check accuracy when I do get it all back together, right now I'm tickled that it may actually work for a change .... keep forgetting how many miles to reserve, and that kept changing too.
dragon159 is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-17-2008, 01:55 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Sky Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Posts: 1,647
iTrader: (0)
 
I don't think the 150 ohm resistor would work since the empty range maxes at 120 ohms with a min of 70. Your tank would be perpetually empty. Now a 50 ohm may work, but then the tank would never be full since it's between 3-20 ohms. 20 ohm or less resistor maybe???

Jim W
93 VN 750 "Ursula"
Moved R/R 08Sep06
R/R rewire 17Feb07
New R/R, Installed 14Jun08
New Stator installed 10 Jun08
Maintenance Free Battery 12Jan08
21480 Miles
VROC #8542
Sky Rider is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-17-2008, 02:15 PM
and the Adventure Cycle
 
hyperbuzzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Western PA
Posts: 6,138
iTrader: (1)
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragon159 View Post
It would if only this stupid work comp would let me see those pics lol. They won't even let me look at ebay or craigslist. and the comp is down at home.

I will even check accuracy when I do get it all back together, right now I'm tickled that it may actually work for a change .... keep forgetting how many miles to reserve, and that kept changing too.

Well then, here's what it says....

Fuel Level Sensor Resistance:
  • Full Position- 3 to 12 ohm
  • Empty Position- 70 to 120 ohm


AKA: Tim & 'The Adventure Cycle' VROC #24567, NEVROC, SteelCity VROC


"When life throws you curves,
Aim for the apex."

Author Unknown
hyperbuzzin is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-17-2008, 02:51 PM Thread Starter
Chucklehead
 
dragon159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Poynette WI
Posts: 1,050
iTrader: (3)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hyperbuzzin View Post
Well then, here's what it says....

Fuel Level Sensor Resistance:
  • Full Position- 3 to 12 ohm
  • Empty Position- 70 to 120 ohm
Thank you so very much, at least now I know I'm in the ballpark and the hotdog vendor just slipped on a mustard pack ... beer is on me
dragon159 is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-17-2008, 03:17 PM
Junior Member
 
hosedragger105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 27
iTrader: (0)
 
The info provided by our esteemed, hyperbuzzin, is confirmed to be correct. Not that it really needed to be. Also, according to the service manual to check the gauge operation, it says to short the leads. CAUTION!!!Do not short the leads longer than necessary. When the hand swings to the "F" position, stop short circuiting. The gauge should read "F" when shorted. If this happens then you unit is good.
This information came from the 14th Edition Service Manual.

Good luck.
hosedragger105 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome