Charging nightmare? - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-26-2005, 10:47 PM Thread Starter

Unhappy Charging nightmare?

Hi I am new to the vulcan 750 , so far I love the bike and think it was a good bike to get. I was having a battery problem not charging so I wen't and bought a new extreme battery from a local battery comp. Two day's later it was dead. When the bike is running the head lamp looks real weak. high beam is brighter but still sort of weak looking. I tested the batter while not running and is at 12.86--75 I start the bike and increase throttle to almost 3500 to 4000 and volts do not go pass 13 ............would you say stator?? Hope Not! Sounds like a PITA. Any help would be great. I am not thatv much into Electrical so sort of stumped on how to check it to be sure of what it is.

(91 Vulcan 750)
Saddle bags
new Dulnop tires

as of now more to come...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-27-2005, 05:43 AM

Send a message via AIM to gnon2705 Send a message via Yahoo to gnon2705
Re: Charging nightmare?

Before you tear the bike apart for the stater, try the regulator/rectifier. It's less expensive and easier, and it may just solve the problem. Sometimes they give out.
Ride Safe
Wayne
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-28-2005, 08:35 AM

Ask that question here, someone will direct you too a not to complicated stator, regulator/rectifier dianostic method.
http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/VN750/
or try here
http://f4.grp.yahoofs.com/v1/wDvBQud.../Stator%20Test
and here
http://f1.grp.yahoofs.com/v1/wDvBQvE...heckout%20Grid
and here
http://f6.grp.yahoofs.com/v1/wDvBQsQ...st%20Procedure

Quote:
Originally Posted by Idahogriffin