tach bounces or does'nt work at all - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-16-2008, 05:37 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 24
iTrader: (1)
 
tach bounces or does'nt work at all

My 86 seems to have a tach problem. When the engine is running the tach bounces around or most of the time doesn't work at all. Any suggestions? Thanks
cagillis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-16-2008, 06:48 PM
San Diego Vulcan Rider
 
DeForestSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 163
iTrader: (0)
 
Good luck. This seems to be an issue that has no definitive answer. I have an 86 with the same problem. The most common suggestion is to check all the connections but I still don't know for sure where all those connections are. I think someone once said they cleaned the nylon connector contacts in the headlight bucket and fixed it but don't quote me. As for me, my tech skills are terrible and my bike runs great so I'm hesitant to go poking around and maybe do some serious damage. The tach issue is probably not one so critical that one of our experts would do a pictorial (like Fergy's spline procedure) showing how to trouble shoot. But I'm still praying.

86' Vulcan, Stock & Lovin it!
Stator, R/R, splines lubed, ACCT's repl. at 25,200
Just turned 29,000 mi.

95' Vulcan, all stock, 9,700 mi.

John Spangler
DeForestSD is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-16-2008, 07:51 PM
HAWK
 
Ccspinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago land
Posts: 2,576
iTrader: (9)
 
Send a message via Yahoo to Ccspinner
I would start with checking the grounds.

Chad Falstad "Hawk"
Vroc #17649
2011 HD Ultra Classic "angel"
2001 Nomad 1500 Sold March 2012
2001 VN 750 "Sold June with 2008 with 21,000""Serinity"
Ccspinner is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-16-2008, 08:08 PM
Senior Member
 
liljd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Knoxville, Tn
Posts: 476
iTrader: (0)
 
a jumping tach means only one thing, the signal has been corrupted or bad tach which would mean two things LOL. The fix...clean ALL contacts with a plastic safe cleaner. If that does not work you'll need to trace the short down and replace the wire. Do you have the notirious squeel that accompanies the jump??

James
1985 vn700 (T'Plana)
Gremlin bell
HD-O shield
saddlebagged
custom made supports
tool bag
extended backrest
Protac backrest
Highway pegs
custom mirrors
custom grips
V&H cruisers
lever covers
DieHard AGM
Kuryakin battery gauge
and LED taillights
marbled

____________________

VROC #27169
Tn VROC #134

www.youtube.com/thetrueliljd
liljd is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-16-2008, 09:55 PM
and the Adventure Cycle
 
hyperbuzzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Western PA
Posts: 6,138
iTrader: (1)
   
The tach runs off of (I'm pretty sure) the front cyl. coil black wire.
Check and clean the connection and see if that helps.


AKA: Tim & 'The Adventure Cycle' VROC #24567, NEVROC, SteelCity VROC


"When life throws you curves,
Aim for the apex."

Author Unknown
hyperbuzzin is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-17-2008, 10:36 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 112
iTrader: (1)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by cagillis View Post
My 86 seems to have a tach problem. When the engine is running the tach bounces around or most of the time doesn't work at all. Any suggestions? Thanks
Hi Cagillis

Does the bike run ok when the tacho is playing up (misfiring, running on one cylinder)?

If it does then you could well be having problems in the wiring from the ignitor to the coil, or the ignitor itself. The tacho gets the pulses that the ignitor sends to the front ignition coil (located on the left hand side under the tank). A wire then goes from the ignition coil to the tacho). Mine does it occasionally, but the bike runs fine, just got to find the time to pull apart all the connectors and clean then up. I use a Dremel with a fibre glass/plastic brush to get rid of the deposits on the male connector and then pull and push the connector on to clean the female. Squirt of contact cleaner and wrap up in rubber amalgamating tape.

If the bike runs fiine when the tacho is playing up, then it has to be in the wiring from the tacho to front ignition coil, the tacho or the power supply to the tacho.

One other little one is the tacho power comes through the ignition switch, so that could be another culprit. If you look at Page 15-42 of the Kawasaki manual there are three wires that go to the tacho unit:-

BR - Brown (+12v from the ignition switch)
BK/Y - Black/Yellow (Earth)
BK - Black from the Front Igniotion Coil

One of those should be the problem if the bikes running ok.

Hope this helps and good luck.

DaveT
Kuala Lumpur
davet is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-23-2008, 10:48 AM
San Diego Vulcan Rider
 
DeForestSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 163
iTrader: (0)
 
Just wondering if you ever solved the problem? If so, what did you find was the problem? Thanks.

86' Vulcan, Stock & Lovin it!
Stator, R/R, splines lubed, ACCT's repl. at 25,200
Just turned 29,000 mi.

95' Vulcan, all stock, 9,700 mi.

John Spangler
DeForestSD is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-25-2008, 06:22 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 24
iTrader: (1)
 
I cleaned all the connectors and yes I do have the squeel. still no tach

Last edited by cagillis; 06-25-2008 at 06:28 AM.
cagillis is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-25-2008, 07:00 AM
and the Adventure Cycle
 
hyperbuzzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Western PA
Posts: 6,138
iTrader: (1)
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by cagillis View Post
still no tach
Well, it's possible with the bike being 22 years old, the tach has seen better days.
I'm not sure how you could test the tach, but keep an eye here or on ebay or maybe even scrap yards for a used one cheap.


AKA: Tim & 'The Adventure Cycle' VROC #24567, NEVROC, SteelCity VROC


"When life throws you curves,
Aim for the apex."

Author Unknown
hyperbuzzin is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-12-2012, 07:00 AM
Steve
 
350ernie2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 71
iTrader: (1)
 
Hi I have the same problem. I wil check teh front coild conenction first, but all the headlight wires appear to be ok. I ahev the 86 750a . remarkable bike, after all tehse years. .Remionds me of my forst raod bike which as was teh LTD 250. Relaxed ride but now with 750 power. True sense of crusing, and really good value .

Steve

VN750
KH500
Ducati 350sss
350ernie2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome