Need Help! Yet another Charging Problem! - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-08-2008, 11:43 PM Thread Starter
Members who have donated towards server costs

Unhappy Need Help! Yet another Charging Problem!

I apologize up front for the long post, but I want to make sure I communicate all of the info I have at this point! Also, I am a newbie at wrenching; in fact this is the first real mechanical project I have undertaken beyond simple maintenance, so I apologize for possibly stating the obvious. I really need help to get this beast back on the road!! Okay, so I identify a bad R/R and stator about 2 weeks after I bought my '89 750. Bummer! I replaced them both. The stator had three posts completely melted and fused. Once finished, I used the Electrosport Fault Finding Guide and everything checked out. No oil leaks, and the new VOM lights up like a Christmas tree, I am truly a happy camper at this point. So I take the bike to work, and about 10 minutes into the ride I notice that the VOM is indicating that the battery is not charging as it was when I started out. Got to work, a 25 mile ride, and the VOM indicates that although charging seems to be happening, I am not getting nearly the voltage I am expecting. On the way home I get about 2 miles from home, while stopped at the gas station, it starts to idle poorly, drops from 1100+ down to around 750 RPM, responds a bit to the throttle, but runs badly with backfiring. Then the engine cuts out completely. $#!& Okay so now I am not a happy campre anymore! I put in a couple of gallons, and the bike starts up, still. running poorly, doesn't seem to be getting any power, backfires a little. Then I notice that the VOM (Kury LED) gets the second greeen light and the bike seems to return to normal. Great, now I can get home; Sucks, cause it l