Iridium spark plug gap? - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-04-2008, 08:43 PM Thread Starter
One Less Car
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Adirondack Mtns.
Posts: 67
iTrader: (0)
 
Iridium spark plug gap?

Hello VNer's
Can anyone tell me the gap for the new Iridium spark plugs I just purchased for my 2005?
I'm praying this will get her started at the gas station after a fill up without cranking the hell out of her.

Thanks in advance
zaak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-04-2008, 09:18 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cheyenne Wyoming
Posts: 508
iTrader: (0)
 
the gap is preset and because the electrode is so thin gappping the plug will ruin it.

Rckmtn
Dennis Huff
Cheyenne, Wy.
05 VN 750
KURYAKYN grips, helmet locks, and highway pegs
Spitfire windshield
Saddleman saddlebags/sissybar bag
Highwayman gelseat with Protac backrest
self canx turnsignals
Diamondstar headlight modulator
Jardine 2 into 2
MCC turn signal relocator and floorboards
Luggage rack
Extended passenger backrest
KURYAKYN LED voltmeter
Custom tank bra with analog clock
Snider paint protector on tank side
130 DB horns
rckmtn is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-04-2008, 10:30 PM
Old Fart
 
Knifemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Catawissa, MO
Posts: 11,627
iTrader: (4)
     
Garage
I do not think you can ruin it by gapping it to spec...but yes they already come gapped to the .035 or whatever the bike calls for...

KM

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/
Knifemaker is online now  
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-04-2008, 10:41 PM
Senior Member
 
shark88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Central, PA
Posts: 2,486
iTrader: (27)
 
Garage
I agree with rckmtn, you could easily ruin them if you do not use the proper tool. And like knifemaker said they should be pre-gapped anyway. Be careful when using your feeler gauge that you don't push on the electrode, you could easily crack the electrode and that's something you can't see. Then it will run like crap. I put mine in right from the box and they run great!

"Show me a man who makes no mistakes, and I'll show you a man who doesn't do things." Theodore Roosevelt."

2007 Victory Kingpin
Current projects - 1986 VN750 & 1988 EL250
shark88 is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-04-2008, 11:45 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 85
iTrader: (0)
 
I did just the opposite of conventional wisdom and checked and adjusted (carefully) all 4 with a very good quality spark plug gapping tool. The center electrode on the Autolite XS's is a smaller diameter than even the NGK's (0.6mm), but they are amazingly resiliant if treated with respect, also the gap was not right-on out of the dimple pack, it was a little tight, for me it needs to be exact.
VulcanRev is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-07-2008, 09:28 AM
Benjammin'
 
BSkaggs513's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ohio, Dayton-Cincy area
Posts: 421
iTrader: (0)
 
I put mine in the bike right out of the box becuase I was afraid to touch the thin electrode. Not had any problems at all.

My plugs were amazing for my bike's hot starts. Now, it cranks maybe twice to start and , most importantly, no backfiring that scared the crap out of me and anyone else within a half mile around me!

Let us know how they work for you.

By the way- use never seize on the threads when you put them in (careful not to get any on the tip). It will be a while before you pull them.

Ben-
SW Ohio

'02 VN750
Pipes drilled
Spline lubed
R/R relocated
AGM batteried
Iridium equipped
LED tail lighted
8000-ish miled
Soon to be MCCTed

Lovin Life.
BSkaggs513 is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-08-2008, 04:08 AM
Straight roads are evil
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: California
Posts: 580
iTrader: (0)
 
Just installed the Iridium plugs. Got them from motorcycleproshop.com, no problems at all.

The bike seems to run faster and have a little more power. Can't be sure without a dynameter, but that's what it feels like.

Wonder if there's any benefit from replacing the spark plug wires. Is there?
EQPlayer is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-08-2008, 11:55 AM
85 VN 700
 
curtis97322's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Albany, OR
Posts: 1,033
iTrader: (4)
 
With time spark plug wires develop cracks, etc. Cracks let some of the electricity go places other than where it's supposed to....

My bike ran better with new plugs and caps, even better with new wires...

Curtis - Albany Oregon.
Currently receiving therapy from "Doc" - My 1985 VN700.

Daily rider in NorthWET Oregon.
Ammo Can Saddlebags
Shaved and Rejetted. Coastered. Degoated w/ Hardley pipes.

Bought Feb 2007 with 12K miles.
Hit the 24k mile July 2008

http://photobucket.com/curtis97322
curtis97322 is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-12-2008, 03:06 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Elemental's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 136
iTrader: (1)
 
Did I read this right?

You drove the bike to a Gas station, then it wouldnt restart at all.

1990 Vulcan
------------------------------
Saturn Plum/55 Tbird red.
Accel Coils.Mangacore wires.Corbin Seat.
Cobra exhaust.Jetted to 1.1 lamda.
Wide levers,cushy grips, All steel lines....
Actually, I've changed more stuff then I can remember.
Elemental is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-12-2008, 04:03 PM
Old Fart
 
Knifemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Catawissa, MO
Posts: 11,627
iTrader: (4)
     
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elemental View Post
Did I read this right?

You drove the bike to a Gas station, then it wouldnt restart at all.
Yeah, I just read that...sounds like someone needs a MF battery, not nessecarily new plugs..............

KM

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/
Knifemaker is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome