Side stand switch - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-29-2008, 02:23 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
iTrader: (0)
 
Side stand switch

My VN750 -93 starts without problems, runs without problems and there are absolutely no problems of shifting gears, but the side stand switch seems to switch of the engine as I want to get out in the streets. As I ease the clutch with a gear in the engine dies, regardless if the side stand is down or up.

1) Is there any possibilities to open and lubricate the switch without destroying the part? (The closest spare switch seems to be in the Netherlands...)

2) Where does the electrical cable from this switch end? I can't see this as it disappears behind the cooler and there are quite a few cables comming up from there to the handlebars.

3) Is there any website where I can find a wiring diagram?

Thanks for helping!
Lollo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-29-2008, 04:51 PM
San Diego Vulcan Rider
 
DeForestSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 163
iTrader: (0)
 
Try here;

https://www.vn750.com/photopost/showp...ze=big&cat=503

86' Vulcan, Stock & Lovin it!
Stator, R/R, splines lubed, ACCT's repl. at 25,200
Just turned 29,000 mi.

95' Vulcan, all stock, 9,700 mi.

John Spangler
DeForestSD is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-29-2008, 06:32 PM
Now what
 
Ironman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Renton, Wa. USA
Posts: 400
iTrader: (0)
 
The side stand switch wire is green with a white stripe and terminates at the junction box. You could try squirting contact cleaner into the switch and see if that helps.

'04 750A- and loving it!
VROC 13864
Using a Purlator One PL14610
"Sixth gear? I don't need no stinkin sixth gear!"
If someone throws you under the bus-remember to tuck and roll
Ironman is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-29-2008, 08:12 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Crobins365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 3,505
iTrader: (48)
     
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironman View Post
The side stand switch wire is green with a white stripe and terminates at the junction box. You could try squirting contact cleaner into the switch and see if that helps.
I don't think so - it is green, but it comes off the side stand (two phillips head screws) and goes up the left hand side of the frame and connects to the wiring harness via a black connector (two-pin). Contact cleaner or dielectric grease might help the contact point, but make sure that the switch coming up off the side stand is moving. PB Blaster or a similar kind of solvent should open it up.

Ironman, are we looking atthe same wires?? I may have the wrong one.

C
Crobins365 is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-30-2008, 12:00 AM
Now what
 
Ironman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Renton, Wa. USA
Posts: 400
iTrader: (0)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crobins365 View Post
I don't think so - it is green, but it comes off the side stand (two phillips head screws) and goes up the left hand side of the frame and connects to the wiring harness via a black connector (two-pin). Contact cleaner or dielectric grease might help the contact point, but make sure that the switch coming up off the side stand is moving. PB Blaster or a similar kind of solvent should open it up.

Ironman, are we looking atthe same wires?? I may have the wrong one.
I was going by the wiring diagram in Clymers. I'll have to go out later and take a look at it.

Checked it out. Mine is still covered by shrink tubing so I can't verify it.

'04 750A- and loving it!
VROC 13864
Using a Purlator One PL14610
"Sixth gear? I don't need no stinkin sixth gear!"
If someone throws you under the bus-remember to tuck and roll

Last edited by Ironman; 05-30-2008 at 12:18 AM.
Ironman is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-30-2008, 12:42 AM
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 103
iTrader: (3)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironman View Post
I was going by the wiring diagram in Clymers. I'll have to go out later and take a look at it.

Checked it out. Mine is still covered by shrink tubing so I can't verify it.
Hello all when i bought my 93 it doesn't have the side stand switch maybe they bypassed it some how . Or i just don't see one on my bike but there should be one
gcgoff is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-30-2008, 07:17 AM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Crobins365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 3,505
iTrader: (48)
     
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironman View Post
I was going by the wiring diagram in Clymers. I'll have to go out later and take a look at it.

Checked it out. Mine is still covered by shrink tubing so I can't verify it.
Ah, you've got a newish bike, don't ya? I imagine it is nicely covered at this point - otherwise that wire kinda dangles there along the left frame. I'll try to shoot some pics tonight, see if we're looking at the same things.

C
Crobins365 is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-30-2008, 06:41 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Sky Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Posts: 1,647
iTrader: (0)
 
You could just cut the wires to the switch and then short them together to bypass it temporarily while you either fix the switch or order a new one.

Jim W
93 VN 750 "Ursula"
Moved R/R 08Sep06
R/R rewire 17Feb07
New R/R, Installed 14Jun08
New Stator installed 10 Jun08
Maintenance Free Battery 12Jan08
21480 Miles
VROC #8542
Sky Rider is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-08-2008, 04:21 AM
Straight roads are evil
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: California
Posts: 580
iTrader: (0)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lollo View Post
1) Is there any possibility to open and lubricate the switch without destroying the part? (The closest spare switch seems to be in the Netherlands...)
Don't think you can take it apart, it looks like one unit. Try squirting it with WD40.

If the switch is truly bad, order it from your local Kawasaki dealership. Part 27010-1189 SWITCH,SIDE STAND. They should have it for you in about 3 days.
EQPlayer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome