Wireing harness woes - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-27-2008, 10:14 PM Thread Starter
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
Wireing harness woes

Looking for advice...long story short, Saturday night while riding my bike home from work it died on me. After getting a jump, I finished the 2 mile ride. Total trip was 10 miles at the most. I thought the problem lay within the charging system again, but when i hooked the battery up to the charger it was fully charged. I hooked the Battery back up to the bike and tried starting the bike. All electrical system were a go...other than the starter button, or the ignition switch. The lights all worked at normal brightness, all gauges registered, but the engine wouldn't turn over. I then turned the ignition switch off and back on, this time the engine turned over and started...for a brief second. IT ran very rough and the gauge lights kept flashing on and off.

I then started the bike one more time after it died. this time when i turned the key on a lot of smoke came up between the seat and gas tank. I removed the seat to find my wiring harness melting (when I saw the smoke i naturaly turned off the iginition and the kill switch). But the smoke kept coming
I couldn't take teh negative battery cable fast enough and the whole wiring harness from tail lights to headlights melted. I didn't blow any fuses, and all major elelecrical parts seam to be in tact.

I tore into the ewiring harness and found that all my posative wires to be good, but every single black with yellow stripe was melted. I can't find out where a hot wire touched these ground wires. where are some
common place for the wires to fray at? Also what would be more practical, wiring the harness my self...I have excellent wiring skills and soldiering skills, or buy another OEM harness?
slimvulcanrider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-27-2008, 11:05 PM
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 20
iTrader: (0)
 
i noticed over on ebay someone is selling a wiring harness for 35.00. you might think about it. heres the item number:
120266319421
mikewebb is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-28-2008, 11:04 PM
Now what
 
Ironman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Renton, Wa. USA
Posts: 400
iTrader: (0)
 
Dang, that's weird. Don't have any easy answers but I know the white wire with the red stripe carries the current from the battery to the junction box. There's a bullet connector in it. If you want to try and figure out what happened, I'd start tracing that wire. If the harness is as fried as you say, a new one would probably be the way to go.

'04 750A- and loving it!
VROC 13864
Using a Purlator One PL14610
"Sixth gear? I don't need no stinkin sixth gear!"
If someone throws you under the bus-remember to tuck and roll
Ironman is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-29-2008, 01:17 AM
Senior Member
 
oglejust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Paris IL
Posts: 572
iTrader: (2)
 
Send a message via AIM to oglejust Send a message via MSN to oglejust Send a message via Yahoo to oglejust
i rewired my bike and it was easy... if u need help w/ noing how to wire it lmk

1990 Kawasaki Vulcan 750

.... slightly modified
oglejust is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-01-2008, 03:22 PM Thread Starter
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
Found the problem...the brake light had a short in it..i fixed it and just spliced the ground wire....it wasn't as bad as I thought it was. thanks for all your help guys.
slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-13-2008, 12:33 PM Thread Starter
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
ok its been two weeks since i fried my tail light ground wire. Now I will be riding to work (total distance 12 miles) and when i get about 5 blocks from work the bike dies. When i say die i mean it is like i hit the kill switch and shut it off. to start the bike again, i have to flip the kill switch a few times. Once in awhile this doesn't even work and i have to set for about 2 to three minutes before the bike starts again.

This isn't an absolute problem. Meaning it doesn't do it every time I ride, and it does it seam to matter about weather, riding conditions, speed, rpm or it just does it sometimes, and other times it rides normal.
slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-16-2008, 12:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Channelview, TX
Posts: 748
iTrader: (1)
 
I think what I'd do is start watching eBay, try to snatch up a wiring harness and the handlebar switch blocks for a '90-up, and swap out the harness. Sounds like the frying may have taken the spring outa some of the contacts; not only in the right switch block, but possibly even in the ignition switch.

Jim

J.D.
Kerrville, TX
'95 Vulcan 750 "Therapy II",
aka "Raggedy Ann"
'95 VN750 project
'03 VN800B "The Little Black"
'04 VN800E Drifter project
'93 VN1500A custom project
VROC #16185
GCVROC #33

Photo album: http://www.flickr.com/photos/leekayd/sets
J.D. is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-16-2008, 11:09 PM Thread Starter
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by J.D. View Post
I think what I'd do is start watching eBay, try to snatch up a wiring harness and the handlebar switch blocks for a '90-up, and swap out the harness. Sounds like the frying may have taken the spring outa some of the contacts; not only in the right switch block, but possibly even in the ignition switch.

Jim
I think you are right, now every few times i have to turn off the ignition swith and turn it back on again to get eh bike to restart. it is getting anoying
slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-16-2008, 11:10 PM Thread Starter
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
how hard would it be to wire in some chrome switches off of somthing else that has a 7/8" bar?
slimvulcanrider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome