Turn signal shenanigans - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-18-2015, 09:16 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
MadKat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 149
iTrader: (0)
 
Turn signal shenanigans

Hey guys,

Bit stuck here. My turn signals refuse to work.

I checked, double checked and triple check I
was connecting the right wires to everything
when I put them on. The front signals DO work
as RUN lights, but when I hit the turn signals..
nothing. This tells me my GND and 12v Constant
are connected properly, but again.. no turn signal.

I am a little stumped. I do have LED Bulbs in the front
turn signals, but the back are standard bulbs. Could this
have something to do with it?

Also, the bikes original gauges are gone and aftermarket
ones installed. Is there a safety switch or something that
may need to be connected? Kinda like how the headlight
wont run unless the engine is going?

I have tried them with the engine going and just in ACC
mode and no dice. I have NOT tried hitting the hazard
lights button though.. I will try that as soon as I get a chance.

If the turn signals flash with the hazard light button, then I
know that its just the turn signal switch is goofed.

Any other ideas? Im pretty flustered over this one. Thanks!

[SIZE="4"][B]"A ship does not sail on yesterday`s wind."
[I]-Louis L'amour[/I][/B][/SIZE]
MadKat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-18-2015, 09:24 AM
Crowley
 
crowley1027's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Southern RI
Posts: 1,263
iTrader: (0)
 
I know led lights need an aftermarket flasher, something to do with less power going to the new bulbs
crowley1027 is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-18-2015, 09:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Spockster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: WV
Posts: 6,483
iTrader: (5)
   
Without the right flasher, I think they should still flash, but flash too fast. I could be wrong. Have also read that if you use only two LEDs, the lights should flash normally.

The number for the LED flasher is EP34 and the auto stores should have them.

Did the flasher work before the mods? You could test the wire at the flasher and see if it gets power when you hit the turn signal switch.

2003-21k mi
Shaved w/UniPK92+Stock Jets-TPE/MOSFET-Shinko Tires-AGM batt-bags-chrome-LEDs...more
__________________________________________________ ____________
Repair Manual: http://www.mediafire.com/file/mj7z81..._Catalogue.pdf

Owner's Manual: http://www.mediafire.com/file/nscb5f...ers+Manual.pdf
Spockster is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-18-2015, 09:54 AM
Giggity!
 
kanuck69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ohio, Zanesville
Posts: 4,307
iTrader: (24)
     
Garage
Yup, try putting regular bulbs in. Is everything connected properly? Is the relay good?
kanuck69 is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-18-2015, 09:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Spockster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: WV
Posts: 6,483
iTrader: (5)
   
Not sure if there's a separate fuse for the signals, but ... check fuses?

2003-21k mi
Shaved w/UniPK92+Stock Jets-TPE/MOSFET-Shinko Tires-AGM batt-bags-chrome-LEDs...more
__________________________________________________ ____________
Repair Manual: http://www.mediafire.com/file/mj7z81..._Catalogue.pdf

Owner's Manual: http://www.mediafire.com/file/nscb5f...ers+Manual.pdf
Spockster is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-18-2015, 10:18 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
MadKat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 149
iTrader: (0)
 
All good suggestions here.

I did check the fuses and they are all good.

I tried the hazard lights button and got nothing.
However, the headlight toggle switch and horn
work, so I dont think its the electronics in the switch.

I would think that the LED bulbs would if anything
cause the lights to blink too fast, and also the back
turn signals have regular bulbs in them and they
are not doing anything at all.

However, I will try putting regular bulbs in and report back.

[SIZE="4"][B]"A ship does not sail on yesterday`s wind."
[I]-Louis L'amour[/I][/B][/SIZE]
MadKat is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-18-2015, 11:02 AM
Crowley
 
crowley1027's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Southern RI
Posts: 1,263
iTrader: (0)
 
I've seen bulbs lit solid on a Rebel 250 and the flasher solved the problem
crowley1027 is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-18-2015, 07:05 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
MadKat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 149
iTrader: (0)
 
Wish I could say the bulbs fixed it. That would have been too easy.

Pulled out the LED bulbs and put standard turn signal bulbs in so that
all 4 signals would have matching bulbs and there would be no leds
to throw off the flasher. Still nothing.

Front Running lights come on, but no flashing. Back lights (turn only)
do nothing. Dangit.

What gets me is that the running lights come on in the front. Like I said,
I double and triple checked all my wires were matched up properly..
Since the running lights work, that implies my GND and 12v Constant
are good, so I dont think its a ground issue. It seems SPECIFICALLY
tied to the 12v Turn Signal Wire. That is the common denominator between
the front and back lights.. the signal wire that goes when the turn signals
are triggered appears to not be sending juice.

Come to think of it, Previous owner complained about turn signals and the
headlight not work properly. The stator was disconnected (!!) which caused
the headlight relay not to trigger, and the turn signals were wired all wrong.

I pulled em off a few months ago and totally forgot about that.
Im thinkin maybe the flasher on the bike has gone bad? I have ordered the
EP34 flasher listed above and I will install in when it arrives. That way I can
run my LED bulbs and it will also rule out the flasher from the equation.

[SIZE="4"][B]"A ship does not sail on yesterday`s wind."
[I]-Louis L'amour[/I][/B][/SIZE]

Last edited by MadKat; 03-18-2015 at 07:26 PM.
MadKat is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-18-2015, 08:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Spockster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: WV
Posts: 6,483
iTrader: (5)
   
Do you have a meter or test light?

I would find the wire color in the diagram, trace it down and see where the juice is or isn't. The wire should be on the flasher plug, but may also be routed through the junction box.

The spade terminals in the plugs can loosen up and cause dead circuits. Had to tighten mine up. Sometimes you can wiggle test wires while the item is turned on, find the loose wire that way.

Three wires on the flasher:

Orange- 12v from flasher to turn sig switch
Orange/Green- 12v from the ignition switch (shown between the other two wires)
Black/Yellow- ground, ties in all over the bike

So if your flasher is bad, with key on, at least the orange/green wire should have 12v on it.

2003-21k mi
Shaved w/UniPK92+Stock Jets-TPE/MOSFET-Shinko Tires-AGM batt-bags-chrome-LEDs...more
__________________________________________________ ____________
Repair Manual: http://www.mediafire.com/file/mj7z81..._Catalogue.pdf

Owner's Manual: http://www.mediafire.com/file/nscb5f...ers+Manual.pdf

Last edited by Spockster; 03-18-2015 at 09:02 PM.
Spockster is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-18-2015, 08:55 PM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,442
iTrader: (5)
 
it looks to me like from the ign switch, an O/G wire feeds 12v to the flasher relay. from there it goes to the turn signal switch via an Orange wire (turn sig side), and hazard switch via O/G wire. from them switches, to the bulbs, then ground.

looks like the 12v feed comes thru the 30A fuse in junction box to the ign switch via a white wire. wondering if ign switch needs cleaning/replacement.

what happens if you turn the switch all the way to right? I think this position is supposed to allow parking lights/hazards to work.

2005 VN750

Sold 11-27-17
michiganteddybear is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome