Question on battery gauge/voltmeter - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-04-2015, 06:12 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Mike805's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Terrell Tx
Posts: 34
iTrader: (0)
 
Question on battery gauge/voltmeter

Started out as a stator, ended up being damn near a frame up build. Now my probably stupid question. I no longer have the pig nose license plate holder/ lamp on the back. Could I use the wire that ran to that for my battery gauge? They are not under constant hot so no need for a switch. Just wondering if it will show the true voltage, or reduced for the bulb that it used to run.
Mike805 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-04-2015, 07:20 AM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,442
iTrader: (5)
 
those bulbs ran on 12v, so it will be fine for running a voltmeter. any 12v source that's switched by the ignition will work for the voltmeter. some will work better than others, due to loads on certain circuits.


btw, if you don't have the piggy nose on the back, what are you using for tail/brake light?

edit: was thinking for some silly reason the plate light/bracket was part of the tail light.. too early for clear thinking.

2005 VN750

Sold 11-27-17

Last edited by michiganteddybear; 03-04-2015 at 07:48 AM.
michiganteddybear is online now  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-04-2015, 07:56 AM
2014 KLR 650!
 
Goofyfoot2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tega Cay, SC
Posts: 3,359
iTrader: (1)
 
I hooked mine to the right front running light and I doubt it was true voltage but that really isn't important. If the bike is running right when you put the gauge on, all you care about is the delta. If is it changing over time. You see an abrupt change and you know you gots problems.

2014 Kawasaki KLR 650
Back to the Kawa World
Goofyfoot2001 is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-04-2015, 08:27 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Mike805's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Terrell Tx
Posts: 34
iTrader: (0)
 
I'm using one of these,
http://www.amazon.com/Candance-Integ...le+brake+light

Need to get into the projects section and upload all the work, just been over a really long time. Sept was when it went down with the stator.
Mike805 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome