so what does the i c ignitor do? - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-18-2014, 06:38 PM Thread Starter

Question so what does the i c ignitor do?

I decided to simplify my bike get rid of get rid of any unnecessary electronics such as the reserves lighting unit, headlight relay( I want to put it on a toggle) cooling fan relay (put it on a toggle), most of the dash indicator lights turn signals high beams and such with the exception of the neutral light switch and the oil pressure light.I think I want to get rid of a tachometer is well, I don't need it I Drive by sound anyway and I never look at it...so somebody can explain to me the necessary of the IC igniter that would be helpful and if I can run the bike without one.I'm not a mechanic, but I'm pretty sharp, though I'm a little slow in dealing with the electronics part of the bike....any imput would be a help thanx in advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-18-2014, 08:05 PM
Super Moderator

basically speaking, it controls the ignition. the pickup coils feed it, it calculates how much advance based on rpm, and fires the coils.

so, its gonna stay

2005 VN750

Sold 11-27-17
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-18-2014, 10:48 PM
NEVER TO OLD TO RIDE

no ignitor, no spark. no spark and you walk.

99 vn750A15
stator mod and r/r mod
ignition coil mod
ignitor power circuit and ground circuit mod
ear shave rejet 142/42 plus .040 shimmed
vance and hines exhaust no baffles
custom paint
volt meter
petcock mod
new backrest and pad (no pic yet)
cooling fan cut off switch mod
jbm carb diaphrams (must have)
mcct mod
pickup coil mod
AGM Battery

did all the mods and repair work and custom paint myself. except exhaust.

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-19-2014, 08:13 AM Thread Starter