no lights, no tach??? - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-28-2008, 11:26 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)
 
Question no lights, no tach???

I was riding home from work today and all of a sudden my headlight , and well lets just say every light on the bike quit working. I got it home checked my battery, it reads 12.8 vdc so that perfect checked my fuses there all good. I am thinking maybe my ignition switch???? Anyone have any ideas???
wicked_speed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 02-29-2008, 08:27 AM
Giggity!
 
kanuck69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ohio, Zanesville
Posts: 4,307
iTrader: (24)
     
Garage
Check your battery leads as well. At the battery and at the bike. I had a loose connection one day & my bike acted very similar. It's possible to be a break in a wire as well. Check by the neck of the bike. I've heard of problems with over extended wires there.
kanuck69 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-01-2008, 05:00 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Sky Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Posts: 1,647
iTrader: (0)
 
Could also be the ignition switch, but it's easy to check continuity of the wiring to see if it's a broken wire. Either problem can cause the situation you describe.

Jim W
93 VN 750 "Ursula"
Moved R/R 08Sep06
R/R rewire 17Feb07
New R/R, Installed 14Jun08
New Stator installed 10 Jun08
Maintenance Free Battery 12Jan08
21480 Miles
VROC #8542
Sky Rider is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-01-2008, 10:38 PM
Now what
 
Ironman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Renton, Wa. USA
Posts: 400
iTrader: (0)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by wicked_speed View Post
I was riding home from work today and all of a sudden my headlight , and well lets just say every light on the bike quit working. I got it home checked my battery, it reads 12.8 vdc so that perfect checked my fuses there all good. I am thinking maybe my ignition switch???? Anyone have any ideas???
I'd track down what fuse it should be and swap it out anyway. Small chance that the fuse is shot even though it looks good. (Has happened before and little effort involved) I'd check that all battery cables are good and tight too. A lot of wiring runs through the headlight bucket and things can get chafed in there. I'd pull it and inspect all the wires. A red wire with a blue stripe is the positive for the tachometer and meter lights FYI.

'04 750A- and loving it!
VROC 13864
Using a Purlator One PL14610
"Sixth gear? I don't need no stinkin sixth gear!"
If someone throws you under the bus-remember to tuck and roll
Ironman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome