Switched 12V power - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-28-2014, 08:19 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)
 
Switched 12V power

Hi!
I'm adding a bunch of LED lights and I wonder if any of you know a good place to pull from?
2004 VN750
dprider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-28-2014, 09:15 PM
Chasin' the blacktop
 
Spencer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Maysville GA
Posts: 1,498
iTrader: (0)
 
Headlight bucket and behind the right side cover there are spare 12v wires to hook to. Both are pretty easy to find. If you want to add a separate switch I'd go for the headlight bucket. If you want a running engine to turn the lights on I'd go for the wires feeding the headlight. The headlight only runs when the engine is spinning, Either way I'd advise drawing more than 2-3 amps (24-36 watts) to protect your stator although the spare wires in the headlight bucket or side panel can support a lot more power since they don't also support the headlight but drawing more than 30 watts can be very hard on your stator.

I run two powerful 4 LED driving lights (20 watts) off my headlight wires with no problem.

[/SIGPIC][/SIGPIC] The mini-skirt is a very functional article of clothing. With it a woman can run much faster; and because of it she may have too.
North Georgia

Last edited by Spencer1; 07-28-2014 at 09:23 PM.
Spencer1 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-29-2014, 07:12 AM
Ndr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 856
iTrader: (10)
 
The Accessory wire Spenser mentioned in the headlight bucket and behind the right side cover are always on 12v, and are great sources to get you power.

However, to get switched power, many here would recommend tapping into something like the tail light, license plate, or front running light wires to activate an automotive relay. Then run the accessory wires to the relay to power the lights. This will let you have the LEDs automatically turn on with the ignition. Add in a switch somewhere (handlebars) to be able to turn the LEDs off when you don't want them.

......I'd rather wake up in the middle of nowhere then in any city on earth.

*2014 VN900 Custom (16,200 miles and counting)
Ndr is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-29-2014, 08:09 AM
2014 KLR 650!
 
Goofyfoot2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tega Cay, SC
Posts: 3,359
iTrader: (1)
 
I hooked into the right running light and then I got a toggle switch and mounted it in the right hand cover just above the reflector near the radiator cap. That way it was switched by the key and I could also turn them off.

2014 Kawasaki KLR 650
Back to the Kawa World
Goofyfoot2001 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-29-2014, 09:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,051
iTrader: (0)
 
If you are adding lighting, I suggest a relay with the switched wire going to the coil, and the power side going to the load, this way you can run a more serious wire (lower gauge) and get less voltage drop to the lights.

I did this on my head light and WOW it made a huge difference.

I ran 10 gauge wire up to the light

Merc
2000 Vulcan Drifter 800
Roadhouse classic 2 > 1 exhaust
Okie Smokie intake config
Changed jets
52K miles or so, always going up
Corbin Seat
Painted flat black winter '12
Mercury is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-30-2014, 01:21 AM
Ndr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 856
iTrader: (10)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goofyfoot2001 View Post
I hooked into the right running light and then I got a toggle switch and mounted it in the right hand cover just above the reflector near the radiator cap. That way it was switched by the key and I could also turn them off.
for a few LEDs this isn't really a bad idea. However, if you plan to pull much more wattage, I'd suggest not doing it this was since the wires on the running lights are pretty small gauge and can't handle a very heavy load. Hens, using them to merely switch a relay and using the Accessory leads to power what you need. They *SHOULD* be good for up to 10 amps since that's what Ma Kaw decided to fuse em at.

......I'd rather wake up in the middle of nowhere then in any city on earth.

*2014 VN900 Custom (16,200 miles and counting)
Ndr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome