Charging help.... - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-26-2014, 11:09 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Cambridge ON
Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)
 
Charging help....

Got a new battery ...fully charged.

Test readings on 3 stator wires
.9 ohms
.9
.9
Running @ 4000 rpm
64 v AC
64 v AC
64 v AC
Battery voltage outputs (headlight fuse out)
12.60 @ idle
13.10 @ 4000 rpm
Battery voltage output (headlight on)
12.36 @ idle
12.70 @ 4000 rpm

Any thoughts ? Stator on the way out ???

I read no continuity should be read on 3 stator wires to engine ground ?
I read
.9
.7
.9

Am I gonna be pulling the darn motor ??
Or does can the stator mod be done without removing the motor & without contaminating engine oil?

Is running a crap or weak battery a possible cause of stator failure ?

Thanks
Shawn
85 vn750 (700cdn) serial #92
24,000 orig km
Shawns57garage is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-27-2014, 12:26 AM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
Those are bad stator numbers... A1,A2, and A3 should all read open lead to ground... What are your r/r stats?
You need to "tilt" the engine at s minimum to remove your stator cover... I wouldn't do the tux mod any other way.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-27-2014, 09:01 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Cambridge ON
Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)
 
Thanks Slim,,
I figured I'm gonna be fixing it !!

Do you mean you can get the stator cover off without completely removing the engine ?

Can the mod be done without having to route that stator wire through the new ground out location ? (I am a pretty fussy about keeping everything original looking)
Shawns57garage is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-27-2014, 10:15 AM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
Yes you can get the stator out with out compositely removing the engine... But the riot method is only a step or two from a complete pull.
As for routing the writes through the OEM grommet after v doing the mod... I'm sure it's possible, but very time consuming

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-27-2014, 10:53 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Cambridge ON
Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)
 
OK Thanks

Looks like Im just gonna pull er !
Is there any good suppliers recommended for replacement stator & R/R ?
I found electrosport ...can be bought direct ...claim to be good ?

Any other suggestions...
Shawns57garage is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-27-2014, 10:56 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2,190
iTrader: (0)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawns57garage View Post
Is there any good suppliers recommended for replacement stator & R/R ?

Any other suggestions...
TPE.
wmsonta is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-27-2014, 10:57 AM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
www.tpe-usa.com is the cheapest and best stator you can get, as for r/r look into a MOSFET conversion... Between the TPE stator and MOSFET r/r you won't have any charging problems

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
slimvulcanrider is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-28-2014, 04:12 PM
Senior Member
 
ifixf18s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Jacksonville fl
Posts: 458
iTrader: (0)
 
Used TPE and a MOSFET R/R when I had to change mine. I've heard nothing but bad things with an electro sport. When I pulled my engine I took a lot of photos to assist me in re assembly. So that's my 2 cents. Take photos that will help, use a clean area and parts bags to label everything.
ifixf18s is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome